help with new head unit please - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 12-29-2010, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
Freestyle713
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,380
help with new head unit please

i bought a new head unit for my zj and i dont know which wires go to which speakers. i cant find a wiring diagram for it either. can anyone help?

Freestyle713 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 12-29-2010, 07:56 PM
sands99
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 28
sands99 is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 12-29-2010, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
Freestyle713
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,380
ok so the unit gets power and everything and the power antenna goes up and down but it wont play any music. do i have wires hooked up incorrectly?
Freestyle713 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 12-30-2010, 08:20 AM
ssands85
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: mankato
Posts: 507
Most factory chrysler head units from the 90's already have a wireing label sticker on them..... tells you which wire in the plug goes to what. Of course that only helps if you had a stock radio to begin with.....
ssands85 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 12-30-2010, 08:42 AM
melk
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 2,890
That 12volt site is nice... Thanks for the link. I'll be putting a new HU in my 96 in the next few months.

Does having the Infinity system affect choice in HU? Due to it using a different amount of Ohm resistance?
melk is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 12-30-2010, 10:21 AM Thread Starter
Freestyle713
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,380
ok but what does it mean when the hu gets power but doesnt play anything? i tested all of the connections with a voltmeter and they're all good.
Freestyle713 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 12-30-2010, 10:30 AM
Canyon411
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spokane, Wa (Up In The Evergreen)
Posts: 667
The infinity amp that is under your rear seat requires both power AND ground connections to be made behind your head unit. The reason is to prevent ground loop problems (noise and hum) from entering the system. Make sure you have the remote power lead from the amp connected to the remote trigger wire from your new head unit (not the power antenna lead) but the remote trigger lead. Also make sure the neg wire that was clipped to the back of your factory infinity stereo is now connected to both the ground of your new deck as well as earth (dash) ground. That should get the music flowin in your jeep!!
Canyon411 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 12-30-2010, 11:26 AM Thread Starter
Freestyle713
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,380
well i am going to buy an amp to power a sub so is there a way to bypass the factory amp?
Freestyle713 is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 12-30-2010, 01:09 PM
shocklee17
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 124
Heres the wiring for the stock amp.
Attached Thumbnails
95ZJ_8F.jpg  
shocklee17 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 12-30-2010, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
Freestyle713
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,380
ok i got it to work. thanks a lot i really appreciate it.
Freestyle713 is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 01-20-2011, 12:25 AM
Darman
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 554
ok i need help with this. i hooked up my new deck and it powers up and everything. it tells me its putting out audio from a visualizer but my speakers produce no sounds. my previous dash deck didnt work either (no sound from speakers) i have the infinity gold system and the only wires ive hooked up are from the original wiring harness. the grey and black ones
Darman is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 01-20-2011, 09:17 PM
Darman
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 554
ok i got it working!i didnt have to bypass the amp or anything like that. i really made it more difficult then it needed to be. on my old factory stereo there was the wiring diagram and i double checked my wiring with it today. i found i had mixed up 2 of the wires and run the antenna to a speaker. so now my radio works, antenna goes up and down, however my deck wont play my ipod when its connected to the usb or the aux port. the visualizer works when i have it connected to the usb or aux, however the visualizer also worked on radio when i had my antenna hook up to a speaker.
any ideas? it puts out sounds on radio only. not cd, aux or usb
Darman is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-09-2011, 03:59 PM
blackjack12982
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darman View Post
ok i got it working!i didnt have to bypass the amp or anything like that. i really made it more difficult then it needed to be. on my old factory stereo there was the wiring diagram and i double checked my wiring with it today. i found i had mixed up 2 of the wires and run the antenna to a speaker. so now my radio works, antenna goes up and down, however my deck wont play my ipod when its connected to the usb or the aux port. the visualizer works when i have it connected to the usb or aux, however the visualizer also worked on radio when i had my antenna hook up to a speaker.
any ideas? it puts out sounds on radio only. not cd, aux or usb
Darman, did you ever get this figured out? I've got the exact same problems with my spanking new Pioneer HU w/ Ipod control. I only have radio, nothing else.
blackjack12982 is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-10-2011, 02:32 PM
Darman
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 554
ya
Easy fix, I changed my Antenna wire to my Amp signal wire and it works fine now
Darman is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-10-2011, 02:33 PM
blackjack12982
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darman View Post
ya
Easy fix, I changed my Antenna wire to my Amp signal wire and it works fine now
Gotcha!

I finally figured out my problem late last night after monkeying with it for quite a few hours.
blackjack12982 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
2-din head unit VitalStang ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 1 06-03-2010 04:11 PM
xk new head unit SteveA1992 WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum 1 02-09-2010 09:31 PM
What is this Head unit? Vee Ayt ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 4 09-01-2006 06:43 AM
New Head Unit Wynne ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 4 12-10-2005 08:57 PM
Head unit i have 5 jeeps ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 15 04-11-2005 05:40 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome