Has anyone replaced their AM / FM Antenna ? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Has anyone replaced their AM / FM Antenna ?

Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippANOTHER Rockridge4wd Creation!! Spare Tire Carrier Delete ROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Reply
Unread 07-21-2013, 11:01 AM   #1
Lakoswolf
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere, Colorado
Posts: 130
Has anyone replaced their AM / FM Antenna ?

Greetings all,

I have been thinking about replacing my AM / FM antenna since the mast broke off earlier this year. From what I can gather the base and Lardeo models came with non-powered antennas, my ZJ is a limited. I am under the impression then, that this antenna is powered, although I can't say that I've ever seen it actually move up or down etc. Has anyone replaced just the mast, or the entire unit? Honestly I'd just like to replace the mast itself, I could care less if it moves. Furthermore in the interest of a possible CB install in the future, is there a way to combine a CB and AM /FM antenna setup?

Any thoughts or advice on the matter would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]"Those who say it cannot be done should not interrupt the one doing it." -Chinese Proverb[/B][/SIZE]
----------------------
[B][COLOR="Green"]93' Grand Cherokee 5.2 Ltd.[/COLOR][/B] - Mine
[COLOR="DarkSlateGray"][B]93' Grand Wagoneer 5.2[/B][/COLOR]- Dad's
[COLOR="Red"]93' Grand Cherokee 4.0 Ltd. (Deceased)[/COLOR]
Lakoswolf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-21-2013, 05:44 PM   #2
dusterdude
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hopewell, va
Posts: 2,044
No,only european zg's were powered(iirc).i changed mine,its a pain in the ***.if you want to know more pm me
dusterdude is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-21-2013, 06:17 PM   #3
dbabicky
Registered User
1975 J-Series Truck 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 281
My 95 Limited ZJ has a power antenna.(US model)
__________________
[B]Why me, Why me !!![/B]
dbabicky is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-21-2013, 06:43 PM   #4
dusterdude
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hopewell, va
Posts: 2,044
Interesting
dusterdude is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-22-2013, 06:40 AM   #5
JeepNicholson
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Burbank, OH
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakoswolf View Post
Greetings all,

I have been thinking about replacing my AM / FM antenna since the mast broke off earlier this year. From what I can gather the base and Lardeo models came with non-powered antennas, my ZJ is a limited. I am under the impression then, that this antenna is powered, although I can't say that I've ever seen it actually move up or down etc. Has anyone replaced just the mast, or the entire unit? Honestly I'd just like to replace the mast itself, I could care less if it moves. Furthermore in the interest of a possible CB install in the future, is there a way to combine a CB and AM /FM antenna setup?

Any thoughts or advice on the matter would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
If it easily unscrews, it's a mast. The base is even "nut shaped". Easy peasy.
JeepNicholson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-22-2013, 02:07 PM   #6
zjosh93
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Austin
Posts: 1,297
My 93 Laredo has a powered mast. Also a US model.

Mine also has power seats and door locks though.
zjosh93 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-22-2013, 02:25 PM   #7
JeepNicholson
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Burbank, OH
Posts: 755
It is definitely possible to run both your cb and radio through the same antenna.

Guys I know that have done this usually run their am/fm through the cb antenna and not the other way around because your normal radio antenna is not really well suited for cb transmission due to the way the radio waves work, but am/fm works pretty well through a cb antenna.
JeepNicholson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
antenna replacement , radio

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.