JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/)
-   -   Harley paid , ZJ now top priority (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/harley-paid-zj-now-top-priority-1681457/)

throwinwrenches 10-13-2013 08:51 PM

Harley paid , ZJ now top priority

As my first official post i would like to say hello to every one and thank you for the wealth of knowledge shared here. Ive done alot of reading here as a guest over the last few weeks and the info is overwhelming, Although not a newcomer to the zj I have owned my 95 limited for 8 years and finally thought it was time to belong somewhere. however I am a newcomer to the skyward ambitions we all share. this is my second attempt at my first post cause i think i fudged something up the first time. my apologies if there is a duplicate title thread. i have been a mechanic for almost 30 years starting in the back yard moving to the small independent then the dealership and back agian, ( in the back yard) . I'm in the "if it can be bought i can biuld it " group.
my initial goals are ;
try to achieve 10" of streetable lift.
33's cause i dont feel any larger are needed.
front and rear axle swaps with auto lockers , i want strong without overkill.
front and rear bumps with dual winches, home made.
im sure there will be more as destruction begins.
i look foward to your advice and disencouragment.

WhiteOut 10-13-2013 09:08 PM

Why do you need 10" of lift to run 33s?
Why do you need front and rear winches?
What axles are you planning to swap in?
Which transfer case will you swap to?

throwinwrenches 10-13-2013 10:16 PM

Well I dont need that much lift to run 33. If I'm going to go up I want to do it once . It will ultimatly be cheaper .
I dont want to run larger than 33 for a couple reasons and I'm sure they are debatable.
1 rolling mass, wieght.
2 wear on ball joints , tie rods , chassis clearance , they are probably best suited for every day driving