gremlins - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > gremlins

Advance Adapters SYE KitsARTEC JK UNDER ARMOR - 4 door Bellypan Kits~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 05-02-2013, 09:29 PM   #1
purewhitemp5
1998 ZJ 

gremlins

Ok I am new to the jeep world just purchased a 98 grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0l at a wholesale lot and have noticed some issues 3 weeks later.

1. Battery drain - Did some searching on the forum and already tried some things out : Disconnecting the neg. terminal and hooked up a test light and started pulling fuses at the kick panel and PDC no change, so I pulled all the fuses out at once and then all the relays....no change.
Next I checked all the connections and sensors in the rear lift gate all are clean and well connected so I pulled the plugs on all the sensors.... no change.
I will be purchasing a new multimeter and repeat before I start pulling major components.

Anybody else have any solutions/insight to offer?

2. High Beam indicator stays illuminated in the cluster with the lights on and does not go out when pulling the HI/Low switch......switching the headlights out clued me in on why it is always on, it seems one head light is on low beam and the other Hi-beam , pulling the hi/lo switch and the lights swap places....anyone have any ideas??

purewhitemp5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-04-2013, 08:52 AM   #2
KoreaZJ
1994 ZJ 

Welcome to JF!

1. Check the current draw (amperage) with meter, not lamp. Then try to isolate the draw by pulling fuses.

2. High beam indicator is controlled by BCM based on the dimmer switch position HI/LO/FlashToPass setting.

Check the output wires at the headlamp switch, test for +12v with meter: