Gear pattern check - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Gear pattern check

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueOfficial Chassis Saver Rust Preventive Truck & Auto Un

Unread 05-15-2013, 07:53 PM   #1
Einkley
1998 ZJ 

Gear pattern check

Dana 44a
Backlash- .007-.0075
Ttr-31
Tttr-42/43

image.jpg  
Einkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-15-2013, 08:02 PM   #2
Einkley
1998 ZJ 

And the other side...
image.jpg  
Unread 05-15-2013, 09:03 PM   #3
framanda
1997 ZJ 

Drive side Looks pretty centered root to face but slightly towards the toe. I just did my first gear set up so I am very new to this. but If i would have came up with that pattern I would pull .005 out from the pinion and if your backlash is a 7 now it will probably need to be reset. Are you setting the preload on the pinion bearings?
I also would like to say I have seen patterns like that run with no ill affect, but if your setting up your own I would take this as an opportunity to strive for perfection.
Some one with more experience may come along and say I'm wrong but that is my interpretation of what I have seen, and my small amount of knowledge on the subject.
framanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-15-2013, 09:16 PM   #4
Einkley
1998 ZJ 

Pinion preload was 31 in lb. This is my first setup too, I'm just surprised everything was so close the first time. I would like to try and get a seccond pattern, I feel like the first was done incorrectly, with no resistance on the pinion yoke, any tips?
Unread 05-16-2013, 06:12 PM   #5
ratmonkey
R.I.P.

1997 ZJ