Front-end Help (Shaking, Vibration, not Death Wobble?) - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Front-end Help (Shaking, Vibration, not Death Wobble?)

Alloy usa heavy duty ball joint kitsNEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4w

Unread 12-21-2013, 05:02 PM   #1
KDMatt
1996 ZJ 

Front-end Help (Shaking, Vibration, not Death Wobble?)

Hiya Folks, I'm new to the Jeep world, but not new to cars.

I've become the default caretaker of my girlfriend's '96 Grand Cherokee (which makes sense, seeing as I'm the one with all of the tools, haha), and seeing as I'm pretty new to the world of 4x4's I could use some sage advice on rectifying a front end "shaking" she is describing while driving it. I'm much more of a sports car/muscle car guy, so you'll have to bare with me on some of the growing pains in SUV lingo.

I've been lurking around the forums for a good long while, soaking up threads about the infamous "death wobble," and knowing that the ball-joints on our ZJ were already bad, I went ahead and replaced them... that is to say I replaced the driver's side joints myself, and was so frustrated by the time I finished that side, I hired out the other side.

The Jeep's riding on a fresh steering alignment as well, and while both the new joints and good alignment have definitely helped, my other half has reported that there is still a noticeable, and scary amount of shaking from the front end, happening at random times, while at highway speed.