First post, I need help! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > First post, I need help!

ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Savvy FREE SHIPPING!Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%

Unread 08-21-2003, 07:19 PM   #1
willsellout

First post, I need help!

OK so this is my first time here. My name is Dan and I have owned this particular Jeep for about a year. It has run well but to my dismay I have some serious issues. I went to get a coolant leak checked out and this is what needs to be done. What I am looking for is whether or not I can do it myself with the Haynes repair manual, and how difficult and or expensive is it, and finally, what needs to be done first. My jeep is a 96' grand cherokee 4x4 4 liter inline 6.

This is the list
Water pump is leaking
Thermostat is leaking
exhaust leak
transfer case leak
oil filter housing seals leak
both front axl boots need replacement, they are torn.
transmission pan gasket

Thats it, if I was to get it repaired by them, it would cost over 3 grand..obviously, I don't have that cash offhand..I also live in orange county california if anyone knows of any good people to work on the stuff I cant do..Thanks and sorry my first post here is such a pain in the butt.

Dan

willsellout is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-21-2003, 08:36 PM   #2
RockPaws

Hey Dan welcome.
The issues you might say are normal maintenance on the Jeep. All are important. I have owned 2 grands and have a number of customers with them that I work on. So I have done all the items you have listed. Here is the order I would do the in.