First Post / 98 zj No Start and How I fixed it - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > First Post / 98 zj No Start and How I fixed it

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Unread 12-14-2013, 12:04 AM   #1
Jaheki
1998 ZJ 

First Post / 98 zj No Start and How I fixed it

Hi all, this is my first post, I'm new here, I'm also new to Jeeps, And new to engines!

Previously I drove a Cavalier but I never cared much about how an engine works.

I got my 98 Jeep Grand Cherokee for $2000 in September, and I fell in love with it!

I was actually dumb enough to buy the Jeep (at night in darkness) without even looking under the hood, or barely inspecting it.
I just thought, "It's a Jeep I need it!"

I had to change the water pump already, but that was no big deal.

but then it just stopped starting! Originally I would hear some lifeless whirling sound, but after several attempts, all I would get was one little click!

this isn't a Crank but no turn over problem, this is a straight up, no nothing click

Spoiler alert! I replaced the starter and it runs like a charm now!
BUT IM FRUGAL! I am a poor college student with a kid and bills, and I needed to do absolutely everything I could to spend little money fixing the Jeep!

after lots of research, and help. here is the rundown of the process I did, to troubleshoot the problem!

1. new battery (fail, my old battery was fine, should have got a multimeter)