Exhaust systms - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Exhaust systms

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wG2 Disc Brake Conversion Kit for Jeep Wrangler YJ TJ LJ Ch

Closed Thread
Unread 01-31-2012, 11:33 PM   #1
lvngtheJEEPlife
2001 WJ 

Exhaust systms

I have a 94 ZJ with the 4.0, i strapped on a magna flow muffler on a eliminated the Cat, but i left the stock pipes. Will this hurt my performance? The stock pipes are really small, so is the new muffler doing nothing because of too small of pipes? thanks!

lvngtheJEEPlife is offline   Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-31-2012, 11:48 PM   #2
stormer1092
1994 ZJ 

I'm no performance pro but a more flowing pipe is more than likely helping same with eliminating the cat and replacing it with a test pipe. I heard somewhere someone correct me if i'm wrong but a 2-3/4 pipe is the best size for the 4.0. I believe stock is 2-1/4.
Unread 01-31-2012, 11:59 PM   #3
zander21510
Lord of Retro Machines

1995 ZJ 

...btw eliminating the cat is illegal by federal law...I see closure ahead!

Anyways, from what I've read you need a little bit of backpressure on the 4.0 to have it reach its full potential...but keep in mind it just wasn't meant to go fast lol. They make hi-flow cat's and mufflers.

PM Kolak, he's the man to talk to with exhaust.
zander21510 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-01-2012, 12:05 AM   #4
stormer1092
1994 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander21510 View Post
...btw eliminating the cat is illegal by federal law...I see closure ahead!