post #1 of Old 07-15-2014, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
Dubfire98
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 298
Ecu reset?

I just finished up replacing my oil pressure sending unit and tps on my 96 5.2. I went to supposedly reset the ecu to let it learn the new to a but I noticed my Vic still kept my maintenance mileage in memory. Did I not reset it properly?


TN JEEPER
Dubfire98 is offline  
post #2 of Old 07-15-2014, 06:43 PM
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,550
when you disconnect the battery, the ecu loses it's volatile memory. it contains things like fuel trim, idle settings... engine stuff...

the vic is just a display. it exchanges no information with the ecu. it communicates with the user, bcm and the radio clock. when you disconnect battery, it loses time, but retains the service interval information.

so it sounds like you can rest easy way up there on rocky top
ZeeJay1997 is offline  
post #3 of Old 07-15-2014, 06:50 PM Thread Starter
Dubfire98
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 298
Alright cool deal.

TN JEEPER
Dubfire98 is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome