doing 247/242 swap....need advice on front output shaft swap.. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > doing 247/242 swap....need advice on front output shaft swap..

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineDan's Old as Dirt Birthday Sale!GEARSHADE Pocket Tops in stock and available at ROCKRIDGE

Unread 12-30-2009, 06:13 PM   #1
krazyteggy
2000 WJ 

doing 247/242 swap....need advice on front output shaft swap..

So I am doing the 247-242 swap on my 00 Grand cherokee limited tomorrow and I have decided to leave my front output shaft as a "CV" joint style shaft. I know I have to swap the output shaft from the 247 to the 242 and I am fairly new to T-case swaps and would like to get it right the first time......has anyone ever come across a post on a tear down of the 242 or the actual swap of the output shafts?? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have found threads floating around here on the t-case swap and I have all the necessary tools to do so....just unsure when I break open the cases......or do I even have to??? PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!

krazyteggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-30-2009, 06:21 PM   #2
cmonson

Why are you swapping the output shafts??? Just find a 242HD out of a 99-04 with a V8 (assuming your LTD is a V8) and you will be in for a direct swap.

Remember to change the linkage location to the other hole though.

Also, search this board as it gets posted all of the time and most people that know the info won't bother posting b.c they get tired of the same questions over and over.
cmonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-30-2009, 06:24 PM   #3
krazyteggy
2000 WJ