Does PCM Need to be Programmed? - Page 3 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #31 of 46 Old 08-23-2008, 09:46 PM Thread Starter
eparke
Registered User
1991 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lehi
Posts: 28
F4D, I just finished putting on a new coil AND a new camshaft position sensor. Neither one helped. I have now changed the Crank sensor, cam sensor, ignition coil, PCM and the BCM. I have grounded out the purple/yellow wire. I don't know what else to do. Any more input from anyone?

Luckduck, thanks for the input. Maybe we could chain them bumper to bumper and find the deepest lake.

eparke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 46 Old 08-23-2008, 11:21 PM
Kolak
Vendor
 
Kolak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 6,425
Did you troubleshoot the auto shutdown relay circuit to see if there's a problem there? I'd have to look at the wiring diagram, but it memory serves, it's supposed to kill the injectors, fuel pump, and coil. You do have a weird scenario with no spark and a continually running fuel pump but I'd still check it.

Kolak Performance and Offroad
Member: Specialty Equipment Market Association
Telephone: 480 998-3661

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kolak is offline  
post #33 of 46 Old 08-24-2008, 04:09 AM
superarmen
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 143
stealerships have to pay for their overhead somehow, right? lol ...kinda off topic but my crankshaft sensor was out and the jeep wouldnt start and the quote they gave me with labor was $300 ....friends dad is a mechanic and he got me the part with installation for $20...id say get it from somewhere else

99 WJ in BLUE

94 YJ in BLACK
superarmen is offline  
post #34 of 46 Old 08-28-2008, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
eparke
Registered User
1991 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lehi
Posts: 28
Kolak, I am trying to troubleshoot the ASD Relay circuit now. I have not given in to taking it to a shop just yet. It may be my stubornness, or stupidity - I don't know, but I still think I can figure this out.
There is a DK GRN/ORG wire that pretty much runs from the PCM to the ASD and then to many sensors and ignition parts. When checking this wire, it reads 5.6 Ohms when referenced to the negative battery post. When I disconnect both O2 Sensors, it opens the circuit (it will only do it when both O2's are disconnected). Is this a normal condition? Are the sensors shorting out?
Also, this same DK GRN/ORG wire is connected to each fuel injector. When the connector is connected to the injectors, the GRN/ORG wire ohms out to the block at 2.7 ohms. The other wire (driver?) ohms out at 14.7. When I disconnect the connector from the injector, the driver wire opens the circuit. So are the injectors shorting out?
eparke is offline  
post #35 of 46 Old 08-28-2008, 04:49 PM
----
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: *
Posts: 682
At the risk of sounding dumb: Have you checked the ECM fuse located under the hood? I believe it's a yellow 20AMP
---- is offline  
post #36 of 46 Old 08-28-2008, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
eparke
Registered User
1991 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lehi
Posts: 28
If it is in the Power Distribution Center then I have checked it. If it is in another location under the hood, then I have not checked it. I will look into it. Thanks for the input.
eparke is offline  
post #37 of 46 Old 08-28-2008, 07:25 PM Thread Starter
eparke
Registered User
1991 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lehi
Posts: 28
Testing the O2 sensors again, I have found that if I disconnect the connector, when I Ohm the BLK/TAN wire and the DR GRN/ORG wire together I get 5.0 Ohms. Could my O2 sensors be shorted out due to an extremely rich mixture produced by the starting fluid when I first tried starting this engine? Because at first the engine tried to start, then all of a sudden there was no more spark.
eparke is offline  
post #38 of 46 Old 08-28-2008, 11:12 PM
VulcanJeep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Anytown, CA
Posts: 315
Came across this link to a stalling fix for the PCM:

http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7811_102...rum-w;forums06
VulcanJeep is offline  
post #39 of 46 Old 08-28-2008, 11:24 PM
Kolak
Vendor
 
Kolak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 6,425
I'd have to poke around in the factory service manual and look at the ASD circuit and troubleshooting section, but did you try starting up the Jeep with the O2 sensors disconnected? It doesn't require they be plugged in to operate in open loop mode.

Kolak Performance and Offroad
Member: Specialty Equipment Market Association
Telephone: 480 998-3661

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kolak is offline  
post #40 of 46 Old 08-29-2008, 12:54 AM Thread Starter
eparke
Registered User
1991 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lehi
Posts: 28
I did try the grounded screws in the PCM. Unfortunately that is not the problem here.
I did not try to start the jeep with the O2 sensors unplugged. What I am doing now is I have all of the spark plugs out because sometimes it will load up on fuel when testing things and I have to remove the plugs to pump out all the gasoline. So to test the ignition, I have a test light on the coil connector to look for voltage to the coil.
I tested the voltage coming from the keyswitch to the BCM and it checks out good.
I did notice that when I unplug C3 (Grey Plug) on the PCM and then reconnect it, I get the test light to light up for an instant and the ASD relay will click. But the light just flashes and goes back off (not the 3 second that it should stay lit).
eparke is offline  
post #41 of 46 Old 09-01-2008, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
eparke
Registered User
1991 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lehi
Posts: 28
There is an orange wire that goes to the PDC, PCM, BCM, ASD Relay, A/C Clutch Relay and a few other componants. When I attach a test light to the + side of the battery and probe this orange wire (with the PCM unhooked with all three connectors) with the key off it lights the test light. When I clip the test light to the - side of the battery and turn the key on, the test light lights. Does this mean the orange wire is grounded somewhere? I would think so, but I would also think that it would blow a fuse. It just doesn't make sense that this circuit would light up with both the positive and negative sides of the battery. The fuse that goes with this circuit is in the PDC. I can do the same test on this fuse. The fuse is a 15 amp fuse, one of the small ones and as you are looking at the PDC from the passenger side of the vehicle, looking over the fender, it's the lower left small fuse.
eparke is offline  
post #42 of 46 Old 01-25-2014, 01:34 PM
looda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Just found this link. might help...gonna try it tonight.

http://zemel.hubpages.com/hub/jeep-no-start
looda is offline  
post #43 of 46 Old 12-19-2014, 04:50 PM
tylersjeep
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Narragansett RI
Posts: 422
94 pcm problem

I need to ask a question I Bought 2 new PCMs and they both don't work right I bought a stranded motor production PCM and a Chrysler PCM with the most up to date software they both don't work I put old one in it works okay like its meant to but the voltage regulator on its way out the door WTF wrong with this two PCM? I got 94 ZJ 5.2 there both pre-programmed dealership ship says it needs more programming on top of whats on there?
tylersjeep is offline  
post #44 of 46 Old 12-19-2014, 06:57 PM
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylersjeep View Post
end up being my ECU. I found a old ECU in my garage popped it in problem stopped now I gotta send my Mopar ECU in to get rebuilt by autocomputerdirect where's its under life time warranty
I thought i remembered you messing with the PCM...So now i know where the Mopar PCM came from.

Where did the stranded (excellent Freudian slip BTW) motor one come from?

And if they are reman, you should have a warranty.

How do you know it's the voltage regulator?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ZeeJay1997 is offline  
post #45 of 46 Old 12-19-2014, 08:09 PM
tylersjeep
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Narragansett RI
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeeJay1997 View Post
I thought i remembered you messing with the PCM...So now i know where the Mopar PCM came from.

Where did the stranded (excellent Freudian slip BTW) motor one come from?

And if they are reman, you should have a warranty.

How do you know it's the voltage regulator?
the mopar PCM has somthing wrong with it sounds like a semi with extreme vibration just as the standard motor production one both are having a huge problem I put the old on back in its fine for now, however the other 2 are having something really wrong I think I was sold a 4.0 unit for my 5.2 apparently its a very common thing to happen getting 4.0 unit sent out by mistake
tylersjeep is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Do ECM's from Autozone need to be Flashed/Programmed? jeepsgonewild ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 4 12-14-2009 05:29 PM
Does a ECM for a 94 Grand Cherokee need to be programmed with my vin# Ved ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 6 10-14-2009 08:40 AM
New PCM need to be programmed for 96' bgky ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 1 10-07-2009 05:21 PM
Previous owner programmed computer????? jeepguy98 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 15 08-28-2009 05:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome