Difficult to Replace Computer? - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 09:46 AM Thread Starter
jlconlin
Registered User
1997  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 28
Difficult to Replace Computer?

I've been told that the "computer" needs to be replaced on my 1997 Grand Cherokee. I can replace most parts in my Jeep if someone will just tell me what needs to be replaced.

Is the computer easy to replace in the 97 Grand Cherokee? I really don't want to pay someone $500+ to replace it if it is easy enough and I can get the part for about $200.

Thanks,
Jeremy

jlconlin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 09:49 AM
RnEmOvr
Have Cummins, Will tow.
 
RnEmOvr's Avatar
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: El Paso
Posts: 11,987
Disconnect battery, undo 4 bolts and unplug then reverse for install
RnEmOvr is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 09:49 AM
DNFJ
WANNABE DESERT RAT
 
DNFJ's Avatar
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 4,396
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trks...at=0&_from=R40

If I recall correctly still need to get it flashed by a dealership.

Project ROLLplay
'00 XJ Locked on 35s

Previous:
'00 TJ 2" on 33" Grabbers
'00 XJ 6.5" on 35" KM2s
'96 ZJ 2" on 31" Baja Claws
'93 ZJ - Stock, Totaled
DNFJ is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 09:59 AM Thread Starter
jlconlin
Registered User
1997  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by RnEmOvr View Post
Disconnect battery, undo 4 bolts and unplug then reverse for install
Doesn't sound too bad. Maybe I'll get my 9-yr old son to help me out.

The parts I've seen at Autozone and OReilly websites don't mention that they need to be programmed "zapped" after installation. (Some of them do, but most do not.) Does anyone have experience with this?
jlconlin is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
jlconlin
Registered User
1997  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by DNFJ View Post

If I recall correctly still need to get it flashed by a dealership.
I've seen several parts online that don't need to be programmed or flashed. Is this believable?
jlconlin is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 10:07 AM
dellis
Registered User
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vienna
Posts: 449
Yes, it has to be programmed for your car ... otherwise, it is just a piece of hardware without software. Costs about $80 for the software installation.

Some of the on-line retailers (on eBay for example) will do the programming for you.

Make sure you buy a "re-manufactured" unit, and not one that has been spit-polished.
dellis is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 10:56 AM
Oldfrog
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 5,092
The 97 model does NOT need to be flashed. I have a 97 and have replaced the PCM ( more than once).

How do you know that you need a new PCM ?

2007 5.7 Hemi, Ltd. QD II -
1997 ZJ, 4,0 select trac, Up country, track lok.
Oldfrog is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 10:58 AM
dnuccio
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 3,483
careful buying used PCMs, they are known to go bad after sitting disconnected from the vehicle

Reliability is relative
R.I.P. Ratmonkey
dnuccio is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 12:03 PM
Texas ZJ1
Jeep Jedi Master
 
Texas ZJ1's Avatar
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Omaha
Posts: 20,302
I have a 94 regular pcm. Who wants it?

04 4.7 HO, limited

08 Z71 Suburban, front leveling kit with rear spacers. 285/65 18s Nitto TerraGrappler G2s

94 5.9 Laredo 6.5 RE lift with 35 Maxxis Bighorns
and 33 Bridgestone Duelers
Detroit and true trac
Red Jeep Club Member
REDNECK JCM
Texas Jeep Owner #6
USN Jeep Club #4
http://www.kevinsoffroad.com/
602.841.3355

For your performance needs:

kolak@kolakperformance.com
480.998.366
Texas ZJ1 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 12:50 PM Thread Starter
jlconlin
Registered User
1997  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldfrog View Post
The 97 model does NOT need to be flashed. I have a 97 and have replaced the PCM ( more than once).

How do you know that you need a new PCM ?
I took it to a mechanic who drove my Jeep around and couldn't replicate my problem. Then, when he wiggled the PCM, the Jeep immediately killed. It makes sense that the PCM needs to be replaced. Is that too premature a diagnosis?

(My original problem was that my Jeep didn't run well. It backfired, stuttered, sometimes died while running, and had difficulty starting.)
jlconlin is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 01:28 PM
OverlandZJ
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bristol
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlconlin View Post
I took it to a mechanic who drove my Jeep around and couldn't replicate my problem. Then, when he wiggled the PCM, the Jeep immediately killed. It makes sense that the PCM needs to be replaced. Is that too premature a diagnosis?

(My original problem was that my Jeep didn't run well. It backfired, stuttered, sometimes died while running, and had difficulty starting.)

Common issue.. the problem is the contacts from ECU to harness. Lots of guys have disconnected, cleaned and reassembled. Use a few zip ties if necessary.

Do some searching here... several threads covering it.
OverlandZJ is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 02:07 PM
MyKeyB
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 300
^^^
I'd try this first:
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/i...l-fix-1487443/
It's nothing else, it's free.

Rust never sleeps...
MyKeyB is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 02:24 PM Thread Starter
jlconlin
Registered User
1997  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NM
Posts: 28
Thanks for those comments. I'll see if I can clean up the contacts and other simple maintenance and save me a few hundred bucks.
jlconlin is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 09:29 PM
shackwrrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: piedmont
Posts: 39
The only thing that need programmed on a new ECU is the vin, Everything else will function as designed and run fine if no other issues are present. The only thing that will happen is the check engine light will be on with a code P0630 which just means VIN mismatch or not programmed.

Oldfrog, do you have a security system factory? Im asking because if you use a used PCM with some kind of vin in it no codes will set if there are no other modules in the system that have the vin in them.
shackwrrr is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 06-12-2013, 11:50 PM
Oldfrog
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 5,092
No factory alarm on mine. I have only bought refurbed PCMs, never any "used" PCMs....like from Ebay or a JY, etc. ( I know they are all technically "used" because they no longer make new ones. You get my point, I'm sure)

The 97 pcm doesnt need any programming. Never has the question of a factory alarm even arisen when I bought them....not from Cardone, anyway. My guess is that the BCM or some other system is storing that info. Zeejay will know the answer to that one.

To the orginal poster, I suggest he remove Negative battery cable, then the PCM connectors, spray the heck out of them with electrical contact cleaner, let them dry, apply a TINY bit of dielectric grease to the female side of the connector at the pin holes, carefully reinsert them, make sure they are locked down and then zip tie each one. Only if the ZJ makes it 200+ miles without a stall or near stall, will he know if that's the issue. 400 is better.

But if he has some other issue that has caused the stalling ( see Zeejay's list and "work" it...) it may well have messed up the PCM. Plus, they ARE known for having poor solder joints inside. Do NOT, I repeat....do NOT buy a PCM from either of those outfits in Florida. Yes, they are on ebay too. Don't say I didnt warn you. If you are certain you need one, go to Oreilly's,etc. and get a Cardone brand. Keep the receipt, for the warranty because it's hit or miss with some of these PCMs. Or you could get one from Kolak, here on the forums.

2007 5.7 Hemi, Ltd. QD II -
1997 ZJ, 4,0 select trac, Up country, track lok.
Oldfrog is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome