Crank Position Sensor - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-05-2013, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
RumbleMonster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Crank Position Sensor

Hello everybody I have a 1994 ZJ Grand Cherokee with a 5.2. It's had a missing issue when reaching operating temperatures. I recently replaced the thermostat but the miss is still there. Its throwing codes for the CPS so I'd like to replace it. The trouble is I believe it's located under the distributor which is tucked up into the firewall. Has anyone replaced this part before?

RumbleMonster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-05-2013, 11:47 AM
Montaska
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bozeman
Posts: 446
The part you're talking about is the easier part to plug in. It's a PITA. I had my mechanic do it and he was not happy haha.

1997 ZJ: Sold | 2002 WJ: Sold | 2007 JK: Sold | 2016 KL: Current
Montaska is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-05-2013, 11:56 AM Thread Starter
RumbleMonster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Montaska
The part you're talking about is the easier part to plug in. It's a PITA. I had my mechanic do it and he was not happy haha.
Yeah I am not lookin forward to replacing this particular part. I love my Jeep but man I hate the amount of space available in the engine bay lol
RumbleMonster is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-05-2013, 01:56 PM
ryanlawhon
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: el cajon
Posts: 63
are you talking crank position sensor or cam position sensor? i just did the crank sensor last week and it is behind the passenger side head.ya it ****in sucked to replace but it did get done and my arms got a little torn up from stuffing them in there but o well its all in love of owning a jeep
ryanlawhon is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-05-2013, 09:43 PM
buttersjeep90
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Warwick
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by RumbleMonster View Post

Yeah I am not lookin forward to replacing this particular part. I love my Jeep but man I hate the amount of space available in the engine bay lol
See and that's why I like my 4.0 plenty of room to work in the engine bay. Id Luke to pick up a 5.9 at some point though.
buttersjeep90 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-05-2013, 10:45 PM
AnotherRedZj
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: fort walton beach
Posts: 2,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanlawhon View Post
are you talking crank position sensor or cam position sensor? i just did the crank sensor last week and it is behind the passenger side head.ya it ****in sucked to replace but it did get done and my arms got a little torn up from stuffing them in there but o well its all in love of owning a jeep
It's really not that bad. Worst part is that one of the two bolts is in a spot that is blocked from using a socket. Gotta do the back and forth thing with an open and end wrench. Use your left hand while facing the head lights and you can reach right down there no prob. Pivot on a socket with a cpl. extensions makes the one bolt cake. Strategically placed of course.

96 ZJ sittin up 6" on 35's with 4:56's and a 12k winch. Cuz...why the hell not!?
AnotherRedZj is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-06-2013, 01:12 PM Thread Starter
RumbleMonster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanlawhon
are you talking crank position sensor or cam position sensor? i just did the crank sensor last week and it is behind the passenger side head.ya it ****in sucked to replace but it did get done and my arms got a little torn up from stuffing them in there but o well its all in love of owning a jeep
Maybe it is the cam sensor. Ill have to check again because I forget which code it's throwing lol. Either way both are in a ***** of a spot and I'm a bigger guy so it's hard to fit in some of those tight spaces. Extensions for the win lol
RumbleMonster is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-06-2013, 01:15 PM Thread Starter
RumbleMonster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by buttersjeep90

See and that's why I like my 4.0 plenty of room to work in the engine bay. Id Luke to pick up a 5.9 at some point though.
A 5.9 would be nice to have. Eventually I'm gonna 4BT swap it though once the 5.2 goes
RumbleMonster is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-06-2013, 01:18 PM Thread Starter
RumbleMonster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by RumbleMonster

Maybe it is the cam sensor. Ill have to check again because I forget which code it's throwing lol. Either way both are in a ***** of a spot and I'm a bigger guy so it's hard to fit in some of those tight spaces. Extensions for the win lol
Yeah I'm sure it's not that hard I just hate fitting in the tight *** spaces lol
RumbleMonster is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome