Control Arm Bushings Tool - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Control Arm Bushings Tool

Official Chassis Saver Rust Preventive Truck & Auto UnRough Country Lift Kits and Parts!1999-2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited Headlight Pair

Unread 06-29-2013, 09:58 PM   #16
KJK
1998 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterOne View Post
What I was asking, is what is different about the uppers on the differential end? Are getting those bushings out a different process? It's not obvious to me, because I've never done this job before.
The bushings on the axle end are pressed into the axle housing instead of being pressed into the arm itself.

Unread 06-29-2013, 10:03 PM   #17
MasterOne
1998 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by KJK View Post
The bushings on the axle end are pressed into the axle housing instead of being pressed into the arm itself.
This is what I was assuming. Can I get the control arm off of the vehicle without removing the bushings off the axle housing? What is the proper way to get the bushings on the axle end off and then back in? Swinging a hammer with barely any room doesn't sound like a recipe for success.
MasterOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-30-2013, 04:56 AM   #18
AVR2
1993 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterOne View Post
Can I get the control arm off of the vehicle without removing the bushings off the axle housing?
Yes. You just unbolt the arm as normal.

Quote:
What is the proper way to get the bushings on the axle end off and then back in? Swinging a hammer with barely any room doesn't sound like a recipe for success.