Check engine light - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Check engine light

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectSavvy Aluminum Gas Tank Skid

Unread 08-23-2003, 05:21 PM   #1
Willie1470

Check engine light

I had my '98 Grand tuned up friday (22nd) and today when I drove it, the check engine light went on. I'm a novice but did the mechanic forget to do something? Thanks for all your help

Willie

Willie1470 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-23-2003, 07:53 PM   #2
akins1400

Very possible. Take it back and have him check the computer with a code scanner. That should tell him what he left loose. Probably a vacuum hose or an electric connector. You can also have your computer trouble codes checked at a parts store such as Auto Zone.
akins1400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-25-2003, 07:59 AM   #3
Willie1470

Quote:
Originally Posted by akins1400
Very possible. Take it back and have him check the computer with a code scanner. That should tell him what he left loose. Probably a vacuum hose or an electric connector. You can also have your computer trouble codes checked at a parts store such as Auto Zone.
Thanks! Went to mechanic to day, he ran the computer check and it showed up something to do with fuel compression (?), the gas cap was tightened, he also pushed a hose in tighter and everything seems okay. Thanks for helping out a novice....
Willie
Willie1470 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-27-2003, 09:48 PM   #4
Angry Alan

I'm having a similar problem. My 98 5.9L has been to my shop twice now for the Check Engine light. The light is solid, which is a good thing. The problem..

It keeps showing up!