Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Changing the U Joint

820 views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  LordHobbit 
#1 ·
Hey guys just had a few questions before I begin changing my U joint, now it's the U joint on the front axle shaft on the drivers side. I have never done this before, I just bought the Jeep Saturday totally stock no mods of any kind just rebuilding it now. 1. Am I going to need any special tools to take out the U joint? 2. Am I able to leave the rotor, caliper, etc.. on or am I going to have to tear everything apart in order to take out the U joint? 3. I'm really trying not to break anything is there going to be any kind of resistance putting the new U joint in or should it just slide right in? Thanks in advance guys

#2 ·
Guys replace them with a hammer and some durable, properly-sized sockets. When I do mine, I'm going to use my OEM ball-joint tool. It's the one that looks like a beefy C-clamp. It looks much easier with it.

I take it that you don't have an FSM or Haynes manual? If not, there are online sources for downloading a digital version of the one for your particular year. It'll give you a good idea of what has to come off, and in what sequence. There are also some good video tutorials on youtube, and other places, that make it looks fairly simple. The biggest pain can be removing the three bolts that hold the axle-flange to the steering-knuckle. If you live in an area where cars rust a lot, it can be a bear. If not, it's not too bad. I've had my axles out to replace something. I don't remember what? Good luck.

#4 ·
I use a vice and sockets when i replace u-joints.
One socket small enough to press on the the bearingcap and pass through the axle and then another socket big enough for the bearingcap to fit in to when pressing it out.
It is doable alone but it helps if there are another one holding the axle while you are operating the vice.