Changing speakers in 98 Grand Cherokee Laredo - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Changing speakers in 98 Grand Cherokee Laredo

Safety Thimble FairleadsEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippBLACK FRIDAY SPECIALS!! You asked, we deliver!

Unread 11-27-2002, 12:18 PM   #1
sgtrahanlsu

Changing speakers in 98 Grand Cherokee Laredo

Hi there!

I'm a newbie here and I had a question about changing/replacing the speakers in my 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo.

I already have the replacements (4 - 6.5" 3-way speakers), and I was simply wondering if I had to remove the entire door panels to change them.

If so, I will not be doing it myself, but if the original speaker casings simply pop off, I'll give it a shot.

Thanks in advance!
Have a great day!

sgtrahanlsu is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-01-2002, 08:45 PM   #2
Orangeman009

I have a 94' ZJ and I do have to remove the whole door panel to remove the speakers.
Orangeman009 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-02-2002, 10:04 AM   #3
ALS59LTD
2003 TJ Wrangler 

if you are going to pull the door panels off, be carefull not to break the plastic door clips that hold the door panel on. when i replaced my front speakers i broke about 7 of them. if my memory serves, there are 3 screws also. you can get the clips at the dealer for about $2 a piece. i installed 6 3/4" speakers in my jeep and they just fit, a friend of mine used 6.5" in his and he had to do some creative rigging to get them to fit. maybe it was just the brand he used. What kind of speakers did you get?
Unread 12-03-2002, 03:50 PM   #4
FutureZJOwner

Hey thanks!