Change exhaust manifold now missing, chugging and shaking - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Change exhaust manifold now missing, chugging and shaking

Jeep Wrangler Wheel Bearing & Hub - FrontJeep Grand Cherokee Window RegulatorComponent speaker deal for your dash - NalinMFG

Unread 04-10-2013, 09:21 PM   #1
gunner608
1994 ZJ 

Change exhaust manifold now missing, chugging and shaking

I have a 1994 ZJ with 4.0 I had a crack exhaust manifold so decided to change it out with a brand new one. I'm actually a nurse wanna be mechanic so I'm not that skilled of a mechanic but more of a weekend warrior but I have came pretty far in the past couple of years but do enjoy learning. Anyways, i replaced the exhaust manifold, with that i did clean the fuel rail and also clean the injector with some sort of homemade system i seen on you tube with a push button switch 5ml syringe and some carb cleaner and did replace all the o-rings. I also replace the valve cover gasket as it was leaking along with new valve cover grommets and CCV valve on the back and blow by elbow on the front. I got the exhaust and intake all back on and everything back together and started it up. Thing was running horrible, I dont know if you wanna call it missing, sputtering, chugging. To me it sounds like it is missing and chugging with maybe a little bit of a back fire here and there nothing major but just little back fire here and there, when you barley step on the gas you can feel the whole jeep vibrate, get her out on the road and it chugs under acceleration. I replaced spark plugs, Cap, Rotor. Also replaced 02 sensor with an NTK. I did have my buddy read for codes and it was the 02 sensor, now that i have replace the 02 sensor the