can you have 2 factory amps? - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-19-2009, 02:49 PM Thread Starter
grand95zj
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Moline
Posts: 39
can you have 2 factory amps?

hey ive been curious about if you can some how bridge together 2 of the factory style jeep amps together? i was thinking that if i got a amp from the JY and kept the wire harnest that i could just link wires ffrom both amps? do you think this will work? i honestly had to 12s running off of my factory amp and it sounded not bad @ all no lie, probably because of the hatch back but still it sounded good for what it was. please give input

grand95zj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-20-2009, 09:00 AM Thread Starter
grand95zj
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Moline
Posts: 39
anyone have an idea of what i mean????
grand95zj is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-20-2009, 09:04 AM
neodamonkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: houston
Posts: 148
Why not get an aftermarket amp?
neodamonkey is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-20-2009, 09:09 AM
JFox21
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 1,526
Yeah, just get an aftermarket amp, no sense in trying to wire up two factory amplifiers.

If your running subs then just wire them together and buy a mono block amplifier.

Here's a link to the wiring diagrams to wire them together for a mono amp.

Subwoofer Wiring Diagrams

Jamie


Sophomore at Santa Clara University
JFox21 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-20-2009, 09:38 AM
-cAcHe-
Registered User
 
-cAcHe-'s Avatar
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Holtville CA,
Posts: 2,513
-cAcHe- is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-20-2009, 09:52 AM Thread Starter
grand95zj
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Moline
Posts: 39
i know what you guys mean.. but there are so many zj's in my local JY.. i was trying to get a lot of stuff from there to keep costs down. im not rich like some of the guys on here lol.. they upgrade like every 3 days. then shows like 2 pages of new upgrades lol I WISH
grand95zj is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-20-2009, 11:00 AM
spife7980
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 3,142
you cant bridge together 2 factory amps, they will be sending power into the output of each other which will trash them, unless you mean not wiring them together and running each amp to say a separate sub but when you do that you will be sending too high of a frequency signals into the subs. just do it right and get a sub amp.

-James
Got to love an ORVIS guy...
IRO 5.5", Front LA & Double Sheer TB, Rear Adj SA and TB, JKS Quick Discos, Bilstein 5125, 265/75/16 Nitto Terra's, Cragar 16x& Soft 8s 4" bs
JCR Stage 2 Sliders, IRO Trans Skid, Carolina Drive shaft, IRO exhaust
spife7980 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-21-2009, 09:07 AM Thread Starter
grand95zj
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Moline
Posts: 39
thanks man
grand95zj is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-21-2009, 10:01 AM
comptiger5000
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,556
Best option is 1 factory amp to run the speakers, 1 aftermarket one for the subs. You don't have to go crazy on the power, unless you have inefficient subs or want horribly overdone bass (compared to the rest of the sound).
comptiger5000 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-21-2009, 10:34 AM
Tiggerrrrr
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fall River, Ma
Posts: 579
If you really want to try it, get an amp from a junkyard with the plugs and as much of the wires as you can. Splice ALL the input wires together and run a crossover between the amp and subs to filter out the highs. Unless you're looking to annoy everyone with obnoxious bass, this will work just fine.

'95 ZJ Limited 4.0
2.25" BB , 31 10.5 15 Treadwright MTG's on Black Rock steelies
Everything "pimpin' Gold" REMOVED!


Looking for a REAR tow hook and bracket!
Tiggerrrrr is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Stock Alterntor Amps ALombardi WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum 2 01-24-2010 03:12 PM
40 Amps ASD fuse keep blowing Hamid ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 1 11-13-2009 11:54 AM
Alternator Amps, how could you tel? Hamid ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 10 07-05-2009 01:37 AM
Stereo Q: Where did you mounts your amps Laid-Off ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 5 07-01-2008 07:43 PM
Infinity Amp with New Amps... Wiring Question ugmoe2000 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 3 08-29-2004 10:41 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome