Can i replace my qudra trac with selec trac? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Can i replace my qudra trac with selec trac?

Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippThe Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!

Reply
Unread 09-30-2007, 09:55 PM   #1
Bekim
98 5.9
 
Bekim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 362
Can i replace my quadra trac with selec trac?

Hey Jeepsters, Just an idea i was toying with. I have a 5.9. I was wondering can I replace my stock quadra trac and put in a selec trac like the I6's have? If so how can it be done?


thanx
Bekim


Last edited by Bekim; 09-30-2007 at 10:21 PM..
Bekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-30-2007, 10:31 PM   #2
Kruzin
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 3,165
Look in the FAQ near the top of the page for info and links to walkthroughs. It's a commonly done swap.
Kruzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-30-2007, 10:37 PM   #3
Bekim
98 5.9
 
Bekim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 362
sorry bro, you got a link im a little lost...


thanx
Bekim
Bekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-30-2007, 10:41 PM   #4
S_L_W
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 220
http://jeephorizons.com/tech/tcase.html
__________________
08 Dodge Ram-Daily Driver
92 YJ- It's like a lawn gnome for my garage.

"I'm an 18-49 year old white male with a loud mouth and a gun, I am the American dream"... some TV show
S_L_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2007, 05:13 AM   #5
360wagon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 13
I did it to my 5.9 and like it a lot better. By the way, it's for sale: http://jeepforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=447274
360wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2007, 10:56 PM   #6
Bekim
98 5.9
 
Bekim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 362
hey thanx thats a great write up. I got 2 questions for anyone who knows this stuff.

1. is it worth doing this to a grand cherokee that has about 220k miles on it?

and 2. the guy who did the write up, he explained how to change some parts because the tcase was from a xj. well what about if i got a tcase that came from a 93-98 zj that had selec trac. then i wouldnt need to modify it just bolt it on right?


thanx
Bekim
Bekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2007, 11:17 PM   #7
QuadraTokn
Registered User
1930 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,047
if your concerned about it not lasting much longer then i wouldnt bother replacing it if the old case works fine.
QuadraTokn is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2007, 11:20 PM   #8
Bekim
98 5.9
 
Bekim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 362
no the jeep runs great, engine and tranny are like gold! just suspension is shot. Im planning to do some work very soon to fix the suspension and some other little things. but the engine, tranny and even the diffs work great!


thanx
Bekim
Bekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2007, 11:21 PM   #9
QuadraTokn
Registered User
1930 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,047
do you go on any trails?
QuadraTokn is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2007, 11:25 PM   #10
Bekim
98 5.9
 
Bekim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 362
in NYC the only off roading there is is pot holes! (thats why the suspension is shot) twice a year, i tow my quad upstate on a small trailer, but thats it!


thanx
Bekim
Bekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2007, 11:30 PM   #11
QuadraTokn
Registered User
1930 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,047
you should be fine with the 249 then. you wont save any gas mileage by switching or anything as the automatic 4wd in your current case only seldomly kicks on the front wheels while driving anyway. sure its nice to shift yourself in 4wd high when you want but if all your jeep sees is pavement then the 249 is all you need.
QuadraTokn is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2007, 11:45 PM   #12
Bekim
98 5.9
 
Bekim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 362
Thanx QuadraTokn, your input made a big difference! Im gonna leave it alone.

thanx for the help!
Bekim
Bekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-02-2007, 06:09 AM   #13
QuadraTokn
Registered User
1930 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5,047
Glad i could help!
QuadraTokn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.