Bypass factory amp ? HELP! - Page 2 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 54 Old 01-29-2012, 06:56 PM
mpsldr05
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hinesville
Posts: 8
just thowing this out there, i have a 1998 and the speakers are eh 12 years old now... and just getting the replacement speakers seamed like a much cheaper deal to me, you can get them thru the dealership, and if you need more bass just go to a sound shop and pay the guy the $50 and have him jump into the speaker line alrady in the back of the jeep? yeah you loose quality but you can make up for that with a high quality amp.

mpsldr05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 54 Old 01-29-2012, 06:58 PM
mpsldr05
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hinesville
Posts: 8
i mean can the stock one be all that bad if we are talking about replace speakers and amps and headunits that have lasted at a min of around 12 years or so for some of us?
mpsldr05 is offline  
post #18 of 54 Old 02-22-2013, 04:59 PM
systemlord
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: N Las Vegas
Posts: 12
I simply put a new head unit in and spliced the speaker wires of the amp input/output wires together. This eliminates the dash tweets though if you want to retain a 4 ohm load. You would think that someone would have come up with a harness to plug the amp input/output by now but it appears that splicing is the only way to go.
systemlord is offline  
 
post #19 of 54 Old 02-22-2013, 07:42 PM
alivenkickin28
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apalachicola, Florida
Posts: 1,687
Unless you are adding a sub, it's fine and sounds goo just replacing the speakers and head unit. Then later if u add a sub you can run the RCA cables from rear of stereo to the back for sub and the amp for the sub. Your aftermarket stereo should have built in cross over so te infinity amp will run stock speaker locations and act as mids and highs while ur bass goes to sub. Has worked for 12 years in mine.

1995 JGC Limited 5.2 v8, black with gold trim
1976 Olds 98, 82 Olds 98, 84 Olds 98, 89 Trans AM

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alivenkickin28 is offline  
post #20 of 54 Old 05-15-2013, 09:10 PM
fjsb55
Registered User
2005 KJ Liberty 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bolivar
Posts: 3
systemlord - Would you mind posting which pins you spliced to which when you bypassed the amps? I'd like to make sure I get it right the first time.

Side note: This in-door amp setup is pretty lousy in my opinion.
fjsb55 is offline  
post #21 of 54 Old 06-26-2013, 04:10 PM
systemlord
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: N Las Vegas
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjsb55 View Post
systemlord - Would you mind posting which pins you spliced to which when you bypassed the amps? I'd like to make sure I get it right the first time.

Side note: This in-door amp setup is pretty lousy in my opinion.

I don't remember exactly off hand... But the colors do not match!! It took me about an hour and a half to do mainly because I was very careful to get everything right including the polarity. Do a search of the amp here and you will find the diagram of the input/output of the amp. Simply follow that guideline and crimp or solder the wires together. Once done you can tuck the wires up under the carpet, get rid of the amp and you will never know it was ever there.
systemlord is offline  
post #22 of 54 Old 09-26-2013, 11:22 PM
zowtiak
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: klamath falls
Posts: 7
bypassing the amp

So I guess i thought this would be easier.
I just bought this from amazon. I am guessing it is not as easy as pulling plugs out of amp and putting into this. Or is it...
zowtiak is offline  
post #23 of 54 Old 09-27-2013, 08:48 AM
V65Ozzie
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wilson
Posts: 630
When I uprgraded/replaced the speakers in my 97(wrecked), I just kept the factory amp. It was more than loud enough that I never had the volume fully cranked, and the sound quality was good. I'd replace the speakers, see if you like it, and go from there. I'd love to swap that amp into my 98, if it was plug and play. I will be swapping the speakers soon, the ones in my 98 are shot.

Retreat? Hell, we just got here......
V65Ozzie is offline  
post #24 of 54 Old 01-04-2017, 04:54 PM
jayman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Garage
Question for those who have bypassed the amp...

What is connected to the incoming 12v trigger from the head unit? - guessing this is what will trigger the antenna.

Thanks,
JayMan
jayman007 is offline  
post #25 of 54 Old 01-04-2017, 07:00 PM
wingless
Web Wheeler
 
wingless's Avatar
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,662
Welcome to the forum!

Were smelling salts required to bring this topic back from the dead?

Yes, the early Infinity Gold vehicles had a power antenna. The head unit output for the amplifier enable / power antenna enable (X60 20 Dark Green / Red on the black radio connector) (X64 18 Gray / Orange on the 10 position amplifier connector) is used for both the amplifier and the power antenna (when present).

Update your profile to ID your vehicle.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wingless is offline  
post #26 of 54 Old 01-09-2017, 06:39 PM
jayman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Garage
No smelling salts, but new battery, starter fluid, fuel pump and jumper cables...

1995 Grand Cherokee that I've had since 97, but sat for almost 10 years.. got it running for my 16 year old son, but radio isn't working... got him a new Pioneer Head Unit for Christmas, but still not working. Seems that the amp has failed, and want to try bypassing, since the the new HU has some amplification... The new HU does allow the antenna to operate, but curious if that connection goes back to the amp, and then to the antenna, or if split from HU (remote cable) to amp & head unit.

thanks,
JayMan
jayman007 is offline  
post #27 of 54 Old 01-10-2017, 07:57 AM
wingless
Web Wheeler
 
wingless's Avatar
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,662
Here is a replacement amp.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wingless is offline  
post #28 of 54 Old 01-19-2017, 12:18 PM
675luis
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: salinas
Posts: 11
Garage
so was anyone able to bypass the amp?? i currently have no noise, due to disconnecting my stock infinity gold amp. I already have a new pioneer head unit working for about a few years know. I was trying to install a sub and a bigger amp. How did you guys go about splicing the cables?
675luis is offline  
post #29 of 54 Old 01-19-2017, 12:48 PM
wingless
Web Wheeler
 
wingless's Avatar
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,662
Welcome to the forum!

Here is an early installation version of my Blaupunkt GTA470 4x100W RMS DSP amplifier w/ Scosche SLC-4 impedance matching transformer that connects to my factory Infinity Gold head unit. This shows some of the Dynamat, the decoupler and the mass loaded vinyl that was part of my installation.

The wiring harness was disassembled, rerouted and labeled for the installation. It was not required to splice cables to increase the length.

The Blue Sea 5006 amplifier Maxi fuse block is also shown.

The existing Infinity Gold amplifier cable ends that were cut off and labeled are shown.










To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wingless is offline  
post #30 of 54 Old 01-19-2017, 01:11 PM
95_ZJ_Limited
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orlando
Posts: 719
I have done the amp bypass on the infinity gold system using wiring charts found on different forums. With an aftermarket head unit you still receive plenty of power to the speakers and they actually sound much better.

1995 ZJ Limited. Lifted, AW4 & 4X4 swapped
Build Thread: Jeep Grand Hilton
Built Not Bought # 529
95_ZJ_Limited is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
bypass dude979 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 1 12-26-2009 11:36 PM
a/c bypass ctwistedpair ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 11 12-13-2007 11:51 AM
factory amp bypass...which wires??? 96grandcherokee ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 5 07-23-2006 02:07 AM
factory amp bypass bill9000 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 4 11-01-2005 02:21 PM
The quality of the factory amp when used without factory head unit senovia ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 5 01-12-2005 09:24 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome