Bought My First Jeep - Wat should I add - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Bought My First Jeep - Wat should I add

TJ, YJ & LJ Drop Down Tail Gate Conversion KitGreat prices on seating!--Oconee Off-RoadTJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFG

Unread 02-12-2002, 07:48 AM   #1
marley1

Bought My First Jeep - Wat should I add

Hi guys, 1st post here. I just bought a '94 Grand Cherokee w/ the 6cyl. Hella clean truck and good for my first car. Now its a decent speed car but acceleration kinda suxs. Wat could I add to this that would gain some horsepower for some better acceleration. Keep in mind im a high school student and still need a stereo. My tech teach told me i should get a superchip and better exausht. I really just wanna be able to beat some kids V8 Jeep in acceleration.

Thanks alot.

marley1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-12-2002, 09:03 AM   #2
Big Dumb White Guy

are you going to go off-road with it? if so TOW_HOOKS front and rear ASAP!!

other mods.
1.) e-mail strider@xjoffroad.com and ask about getting your Throttle body bored out and a TB spacer. you could do those 2 for under $125.00. also check here -intake cheap! for a "homemade" K&N intake. i did these and it works nice.

2.) exhaust is another thing to have done. easy (more) air in + easy (more) air out = more H.P.

3.) i have a Crane Cams Fireball ignition waiting to be installed. i found a coil and ignition box from summit racing, for $150. normally the box alone is $175.

4.) stay away from the "chip" unless you have BIG $$$$. maybe look into the Mopar Performance 'puter. not sure who sells them, but i am sure someone here knows.