best way to remove sludge from the engine? - Page 3 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > best way to remove sludge from the engine?

The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Ruffstuff 3 Link Kit!The Ruffstuff Optima Battery Box!

Unread 11-17-2013, 11:09 PM   #31
StPaul59
1998 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnCrabtree View Post
Mixing those additive packages can cause all kinds of different ****. Mainly your seals go bad faster. I'm not a scientist so I can't sit here and say "if you mix A with B your oil will deteriorate blah blah blah" but it is a well known fact that mixing different oils MAY cause premature engine damage.
On my first 98, I used nothing but Mobil 1 syn and my seals went to hell and high water leaking everywhere until I went to conventional oil.

StPaul59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-18-2013, 01:34 AM   #32
JohnCrabtree
1994 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by StPaul59 View Post
On my first 98, I used nothing but Mobil 1 syn and my seals went to hell and high water leaking everywhere until I went to conventional oil.
Most of the time when people have that issue it is because the additives in synthetic oil is different than conventional, synthetic's cleansers tend to be stronger. What normally happens is you had some kind of sludge or carbon deposits keeping your seals from leaking and those stronger cleansers, well, they clean!
JohnCrabtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-18-2013, 02:10 AM   #33
shaban
1996 ZJ 

What I've heard is that its best not to use any agressive sludge cleaner products. Some piece of gunk may fall off and get stuck, say, in one of crankshaft bearing oil passages. I'd just keep changing the oil more frequently.