BAD vibration, TC?? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 06-14-2008, 12:32 PM Thread Starter
SunWolf
1995 ZJ 

BAD vibration, TC??

ok, a little back story. I'm not a mechanic, but I'm not totally "wrench stupid" either. My current jeep is a '95 ZJ Q-trak with 125K+ miles. I bought it a few months ago from the original owner, who used it mainly for highway trailer towing...I know him, so I know he is telling the truth. I bought it knowing full well there was a problem of some sort developing, more than likely in the TC.

The original problem was as follows: after extended driving (50+ miles at 55-65 mph), when making tight maneuvers like turning into a parking space the front tires would scrub and jerk on occasion...maybe one time out of 10 trips. I had the local Jeep Dealer service the TC, but still did the same thing. Yeah, trouble brewing...VC maybe, I think the 249 has a VC??

Symptoms changed a couple days ago, and I parked it till I figure out if my diagnosis is correct. I was driving it at about 35 mph when all of a sudden the steering wheel began to shake and the engine sounds changed and it sounded and felt like I had dropped a cylinder. I pulled into a parking lot and popped the hood...much to my surprise, the motor is humming along without missing a beat. hhmmmmm, ok, get back in, hold the brake and put it in gear. Wheel shaking a little bit, but sounds better. Let the brake go and idled across the parking lot...little shake, not sounding to bad. Give it a LITTLE gas...little more shake, sounds the same...

It's a mile and a half to the house...figure I might as well take it home. Turn back onto the street and give it gas and it feels like it's gonna shake itself to death. I bump the trany out of gear and the shake and sound go away almost completely as it rolls down the road. Got it limped home.