post #1 of Old 05-29-2013, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
dusterdude
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hopewell
Posts: 2,048
Audiophile expert

Im installing a brand new delphi x250 mp3 radio im the jeep.it has a weird pigtail that plugs into the radio and is supposed to adapt to the vehicle wiring.im buying an adapter harness for the zj wiring but as you can see,im not sure how the double ended plug on the radio harness is supposed to wire up to th zj

image-3891331757.jpg

dusterdude is offline  
post #2 of Old 05-29-2013, 04:18 PM
wsigo
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 454
So the wire harness for the new radio has a connector on each end? I'm seeing butt terminals on the one in the picture. You'll probably just have to cut one of the plugs off and wire it up to a wire harness that connects to the Jeep's factory wiring. Ya know?

Walmart sells the harness, you should be able to find one. If you've got the factory Infinity stereo in your ZJ don't worry about buying one that will bypass the factory amp- just get the regular harness and wire it up using the factory amplifier.
wsigo is online now  
post #3 of Old 05-29-2013, 04:40 PM Thread Starter
dusterdude
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hopewell
Posts: 2,048
Its looking like thats what im gonna do,thanks
dusterdude is offline  
post #4 of Old 05-30-2013, 04:23 AM
ejschultz
Web Wheeler
 
ejschultz's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Crown Point
Posts: 3,415
IIRC, if you have the factory amp, you have to hook up the "power antenna" on the Jeep side to the remote turn on from the amp. The "power antenna" on the Jeep side is the remote turn on. At least I had to do that when I had my HU in before I swapped everything out.

97 ZJ - 5.2L, 242, 4" IRO lift w/short arms & adj. TBs, JKS Discos/BPEs, DT3000s, Aussie'd 44A, sliders, OEM skids/hooks/hitch, 31" Duratracs on 15x8s
14 JKU Sport S - Stock
Build
ejschultz is offline  
post #5 of Old 05-31-2013, 09:39 AM Thread Starter
dusterdude
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hopewell
Posts: 2,048
Thanks ej,one more thing,there is a lone black wire that plugs into the back of the unit,any idea what that is for?
dusterdude is offline  
post #6 of Old 05-31-2013, 10:37 AM
ejschultz
Web Wheeler
 
ejschultz's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Crown Point
Posts: 3,415
It's a ground if I recall correctly.

97 ZJ - 5.2L, 242, 4" IRO lift w/short arms & adj. TBs, JKS Discos/BPEs, DT3000s, Aussie'd 44A, sliders, OEM skids/hooks/hitch, 31" Duratracs on 15x8s
14 JKU Sport S - Stock
Build
ejschultz is offline  
post #7 of Old 06-03-2013, 06:03 PM Thread Starter
dusterdude
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: hopewell
Posts: 2,048
Got it installed,still have a memory issue with the radio not holding the preset stations,im done with it for now,worry about the niggly crap another time
dusterdude is offline  
post #8 of Old 06-03-2013, 06:25 PM
wsigo
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by dusterdude View Post
Got it installed,still have a memory issue with the radio not holding the preset stations,im done with it for now,worry about the niggly crap another time
Swap the red and yellow wires. That should clear up the issue.
wsigo is online now  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome