Alternator Amps, how could you tel? - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 06-25-2009, 03:13 PM Thread Starter
Hamid
Member
 
Hamid's Avatar
2015 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 243
Alternator Amps, how could you tel?

After installing a Taurs 2 speed fan in my 93 ZJ 4.0L, I thought it will be better to throw in a 136 amps alternator to help in compensating for current draw and keep enough voltages to other sys.
I did not see any changes in current boost, just like the old 90amps alt is still there, sometimes needl goes to near 9 volts when I switvhed to the high speed.

I just want to know how do I measure the alt in order to see if its 136 amps, or 90 amps.

Thanks for your advise.


*****************
2015 GC Laredo 3.6L
2500 Miles
Hamid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 06-25-2009, 05:55 PM
81cjkid
Registered User
1981 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: poway,ca
Posts: 21
I don't know what tools you have access to, but if you use an amp meter (the clamp type),and a battery tester you can find out. Take the amp tester and put it on the negative battery cable, then take the battery tester and put a load on the battery. You will then be able to see how many amps your alternator is kicking out, or if its working correctly.
81cjkid is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 06-26-2009, 07:58 AM
Marcos
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germantown
Posts: 956
Where did you get the new alternator? The 136a alternator is physically larger int he main body than the 90a. The mounting and connections are the same, though.

Unless you bought a re-wound aftermarket one, then it could be different.
Marcos is online now  
post #4 of 11 Old 06-26-2009, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
Hamid
Member
 
Hamid's Avatar
2015 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 243
81cjkid: I know th the battery tester, but what is an amp meter, can I use the digital ohmmeter instead.

Marcos: It looks the same as the old one,

Thank you all for the info.

*****************
2015 GC Laredo 3.6L
2500 Miles

Last edited by Hamid; 06-26-2009 at 09:59 PM.
Hamid is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 06-26-2009, 10:22 PM
5-90
Registered User
 
5-90's Avatar
1988 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 5,343
Marcos is correct, the 136A ND from a V8 ZJ/WJ/Durango is physically larger than the 90A ND, and if you're replacing the 90A with the 136A unit, you'd have had to grind into the mounting by about 1/4" to clear the larger frame. So, chances are you still have the 90A.

It should also be borne in mind that the alternator cannot generate maximum output potential until the spindle speed is up around 3300-3500rpm - which comes out to about 1000-1200rpm at the crankshaft. If you're checking at idle, it's not a valid test. (i.e. - my 195A Delco CS-130 can only generate some 70A at idle. Period. At 1200rpm, it can generate 198A - solid!)

NB: The current function on the typical DMM (that you'd buy at the hardware store or parts house) is only good for about 10A before you blow the fuse. The "lobster claw" type - that clamps around the wire and reads from the magnetic field the current generates - can be good for up around 500A depending on the model. If you look at one, make sure it reads DC Amps (since AC and DC amps generate different magnetic fields, trying to read a DC field with an AC ammeter will confuse the meter and give you an invalid reading. And vice versa.)

"recon" (sic - reckon)(tm) "hihgly"(tm) "seceed"(tm)
"Outback AIDS - Alcohol-Induced Dizzy Spells"
5-90 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 06-26-2009, 11:54 PM
Some_Anchovies
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Middle
Posts: 369
If I would have gotten a new higher amp alternator, I would have gone with a high output one... (like atleast 200 amps). But that's just me.

Sounds like you got ripped off with another 90A
Some_Anchovies is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-02-2009, 06:55 AM Thread Starter
Hamid
Member
 
Hamid's Avatar
2015 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 243
I think we went off the track, my main Q was how to measure the Alt AMPs???

*****************
2015 GC Laredo 3.6L
2500 Miles
Hamid is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-02-2009, 07:31 AM
vansskaterfreek
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: ocean city
Posts: 486
with an amp meter....

1998 ZJ 5.9L 122k miles - DD, 242 swap, 3.5" RE, 32" BFG M/T, safari rack, roof-mounted lights, custom steel front bumper with hitch reciever, 10k winch :)
2004 WJ 4.7L 107k miles - her daily driver, 2" daystar BB with scorpion shocks.. not too bad! stuffed 265/65/17 General Grabber AT2'S
vansskaterfreek is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-04-2009, 05:22 AM Thread Starter
Hamid
Member
 
Hamid's Avatar
2015 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 243
fine, but how do you connect it?.

*****************
2015 GC Laredo 3.6L
2500 Miles

Last edited by Hamid; 07-04-2009 at 05:58 AM.
Hamid is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-04-2009, 11:21 AM
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,837
Unless you have a clamp on DC ampmeter, take it to autozone or AAP and they can check it out.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ZeeJay1997 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-05-2009, 02:37 AM Thread Starter
Hamid
Member
 
Hamid's Avatar
2015 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 243
No autozone around here, I have to do that by myself, Thanks Zeejay1997.

*****************
2015 GC Laredo 3.6L
2500 Miles
Hamid is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Stock Alterntor Amps ALombardi WK Grand Cherokee & XK Commander Forum 2 01-24-2010 04:12 PM
can you have 2 factory amps? grand95zj ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 9 11-21-2009 11:34 AM
40 Amps ASD fuse keep blowing Hamid ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 1 11-13-2009 12:54 PM
Stereo Q: Where did you mounts your amps Laid-Off ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 5 07-01-2008 08:43 PM
Infinity Amp with New Amps... Wiring Question ugmoe2000 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 3 08-29-2004 11:41 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome