adding a subwoofer to the infinity gold system - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > adding a subwoofer to the infinity gold system

Advance Adapters SYE KitsRIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all Rubicon express discounts from oconee off-road

Reply
Unread 09-13-2003, 10:30 PM   #1
jasondew
Member
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 109
adding a subwoofer to the infinity gold system

did a search--guess what? search didn't find anything cause the search on this board never finds anything.

anyway, i just picked up my 2004 overland. my wrangler is my wheelin' vehicle so my overland is my gear and people hauler. in order to haul people and gear in style i need to add a subwoofer to the audio system. i've built many car audio systems over the years, usually by just replacing everying in the vehicle and adding from there. in this vehicle (with the GPS nav computer) i don't really want to R&R everything that is there just to add some bass i don't really need anyway.

so, does anyone know how to splice into the factory wiring to get a line level signal to send to another amp for a sub? i know it's easy to get a speaker level signal but that will sound like poo.

thanks,

jasondew is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-14-2003, 09:09 AM   #2
crash98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 28
they make a low level line converter that you can add on, you see it alot on car where people want to keep their stock stereo but want and amp and subs.
crash98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-14-2003, 10:55 AM   #3
jiggajeeps
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: indy
Posts: 61
Can you get a line level input from the connection to the factory amp?
__________________
Current:
'98 TJ SE, stock
Past:
'04 KJ Sport, '98 5.9 Deep Slate, FIPK2, Mopar ECU, '93 XJ Country, '92 YJ 4.0 5speed
jiggajeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-14-2003, 11:19 AM   #4
Beachead19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 124
I just went to the Jeep dealer and asked to look through their FSM for a wiring diagram. I have it, but it is of no use to you since you have a WJ.
__________________
98 ZJ Limited I6
OME SD40
BFG AT
Kolak Ignition
-----------------------------------------
Beachead19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-15-2003, 07:28 AM   #5
techie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Naperville
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beachead19
I just went to the Jeep dealer and asked to look through their FSM for a wiring diagram. I have it, but it is of no use to you since you have a WJ.
I have a 98 ZJ, could you scan a copy?
techie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-15-2003, 09:03 AM   #6
Beachead19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by techie
I have a 98 ZJ, could you scan a copy?
Yes I think I can. Its back home so maybe I could do it this weekend. Thats where my scanner is too.
__________________
98 ZJ Limited I6
OME SD40
BFG AT
Kolak Ignition
-----------------------------------------
Beachead19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-15-2003, 04:02 PM   #7
crash98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 28
you can't and to the factory amp ( It can't handle it for one) but if you use the inline filter it will let you add an amp and sub(s) if thats what your looking for.
crash98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.