Adding a digital vic? - Page 3 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Adding a digital vic?

Labor Day Sale!Clayton Off Road - last day of the Labor Day special!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Reply
Unread 07-12-2013, 10:38 AM   #31
zjosh93
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Austin
Posts: 1,142
Mine's the original 93 VIC, still works perfectly. Tells me the washer fluid is low and I check, it is and I add some. Tells me the brake light is out and I find a bad bulb. Tells me the oil is low and sure enough it's right below the fill line. The only thing it ever has done was completely die about six months ago. Took it apart and found a bad capacitor. Soldered a new one in and it's been working fine.

zjosh93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-12-2013, 03:35 PM   #32
coralman
green backs to no backs
 
coralman's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 4,329
Xcaliber, hook up with a fsm for a 93 for a wiring diagram. I'm not familiar with earlier versions of the vic, but a 98 recieves the open door signals from the switch via the ccd bus /bcm.
__________________
Move over bear.I'm tired of working on the jeep

Links to axle rebuilds, mount replace,a/c box rebuild,ect in history section of my profile page
coralman is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-12-2013, 05:46 PM   #33
Lakoswolf
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere, Colorado
Posts: 130
The only issue I've had with the VIC in either 93' I've owned is a bad oil level sensor which I shut up with a resistor, but otherwise it has worked flawlessly. Which is especially nice considering I had to refill my antifreeze for a good month repeatedly on the count of a bad water pump.
__________________
[SIZE="1"][B]"Those who say it cannot be done should not interrupt the one doing it." -Chinese Proverb[/B][/SIZE]
----------------------
[B][COLOR="Green"]93' Grand Cherokee 5.2 Ltd.[/COLOR][/B] - Mine
[COLOR="DarkSlateGray"][B]93' Grand Wagoneer 5.2[/B][/COLOR]- Dad's
[COLOR="Red"]93' Grand Cherokee 4.0 Ltd. (Deceased)[/COLOR]
Lakoswolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2013, 11:58 AM   #34
xcaliber81
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Prince George, B.C
Posts: 2,807
Hooked up the LOM and I put the vic in and I noticed umong other thing it said I had a rear lamp failure are the pinnouts different if theres no vic? I have no burnt bulbs.
__________________
Im indian my elders name is Jeep Grand Cherokee, I mean Chief Grand Cherokee. Quoted from Peter Griffin.
xcaliber81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2013, 12:03 PM   #35
leftfield6
Where are my damn keys?
 
leftfield6's Avatar
1964  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Beautiful South
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcaliber81 View Post
Hooked up the LOM and I put the vic in and I noticed umong other thing it said I had a rear lamp failure are the pinnouts different if theres no vic? I have no burnt bulbs.
Sure about that? It will give you the RLF if your rear side marker lights are burnt out. Easy to overlook those tiny bulbs.
__________________
(Current) 98 Grand Cherokee Limited 5.9
http://www.fuelly.com/driver/leftfield6/grand-cherokee

(former) 98 Grand Cherokee Laredo
77 CJ-5
75 CJ-5
leftfield6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2013, 12:14 PM   #36
xcaliber81
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Prince George, B.C
Posts: 2,807
Oh for sure I checked everything lol took a brick to the brake peddal turned the four ways on as well as the parking lamps and everything lit up.
__________________
Im indian my elders name is Jeep Grand Cherokee, I mean Chief Grand Cherokee. Quoted from Peter Griffin.
xcaliber81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-03-2013, 11:15 PM   #37
unabashedpraise
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: KC, Misery
Posts: 286
I blame this thread. Randomly the vic said there was a brake lamp failure. But there isn't.. hhhhhhhhh....
__________________
1998 Grand Cherokee Limited; 5.2 L, 249

Help: Rear left lock doesn't lock using power locks, but will unlock. Any ideas?

-Born once, die twice. Born twice, die once.
unabashedpraise is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-05-2013, 08:31 AM   #38
exmilitary
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 58
I would clean the brake light contacts on the truck side. I did find corrosion on the contacts and that changes the resistance values for the vic console, and thus fixing the error massage.
exmilitary is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-05-2013, 08:51 AM   #39
fljeepney
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 653
I just got mine working in my 5.9.Found out it was a fuse after 3 weeks of ownership.Wasn't really concerned at it,but I'm on vacation this week and needed something to do.
__________________
1993 ZJ 4.0 Laredo
1998 ZJ 5.9 Limited
1985 Corolla AE86 coupe
fljeepney is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2013, 11:29 PM   #40
xcaliber81
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Prince George, B.C
Posts: 2,807
Lol so upon replacing my broken tail light i discovered i do have a burnt out tail light so it was telling the truth.
__________________
Im indian my elders name is Jeep Grand Cherokee, I mean Chief Grand Cherokee. Quoted from Peter Griffin.
xcaliber81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-12-2013, 06:47 PM   #41
xcaliber81
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Prince George, B.C
Posts: 2,807
so I changed the bulb and i put in the vic to see if rear lamp failure went out however it did not. Also it told me to check engine oil level but the thing is its actually low how does it know this I've never hooked up any sensors for that?
__________________
Im indian my elders name is Jeep Grand Cherokee, I mean Chief Grand Cherokee. Quoted from Peter Griffin.
xcaliber81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-12-2013, 07:27 PM   #42
coralman
green backs to no backs
 
coralman's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 4,329
Check to see if there is a sensor in the oilpan. If not it may be a default responce.
__________________
Move over bear.I'm tired of working on the jeep

Links to axle rebuilds, mount replace,a/c box rebuild,ect in history section of my profile page
coralman is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-12-2013, 07:37 PM   #43
xcaliber81
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Prince George, B.C
Posts: 2,807
I know for sure there's no sensor in the oil pan ok then ill throw that out as a default response then.
__________________
Im indian my elders name is Jeep Grand Cherokee, I mean Chief Grand Cherokee. Quoted from Peter Griffin.
xcaliber81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-13-2013, 04:07 AM   #44
coralman
green backs to no backs
 
coralman's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 4,329
It was on some early jeeps, I can;t remember what years.
__________________
Move over bear.I'm tired of working on the jeep

Links to axle rebuilds, mount replace,a/c box rebuild,ect in history section of my profile page
coralman is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-13-2013, 07:51 AM   #45
zjosh93
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Austin
Posts: 1,142
My 93 has the oil level sensor. RockAuto sells the oil pan with the sensor hole and the sensor: if you have the pigtail hanging there you could easily add that sensor.
zjosh93 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.