98ZJ 4.0 Ironman4x4fab motor mount torque - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 98ZJ 4.0 Ironman4x4fab motor mount torque

Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippRoad Race Motorsports Stage 2 Power Pack

Reply
Unread 05-10-2013, 05:47 PM   #1
purple_jeep
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 115
98ZJ 4.0 Ironman4x4fab motor mount torque

Hi All,

Do I use the same torque for the Ironman4x4fab mounts as I would for the OEM mounts (80 ft.lbs from the FSM)? I ask because on the OEM mounts there is a large steel piece in the middle but not in the Ironman4x4fab ones.

I am having some vibration issues that I think are because my engine is not sitting square on the mounts. See the pictures below. I will be loosening and adjusting the mounts this weekend so wanted to confirm the torque numbers .

Cheers

Chris

img_20130507_075428.jpg   img_20130507_075448.jpg  
purple_jeep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-10-2013, 06:24 PM   #2
jm8881
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: , California
Posts: 428
I don't know if this is true or not as I've never done engine mounts on these trucks but it looks like your motor mounts are installed on the wrong sides or backwards.

The engine mounts appear to have an angle built into the bushing housing that looks like it's opposite of how the mount on the engine is.

Again, I could be totally wrong on this though.

Also Ironman4x4fab.com shows a metal insert for the bolt to go through in their pictures.
jm8881 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-10-2013, 07:24 PM   #3
purple_jeep
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 115
yeah they cant be installed any other way due to the bolt patterns so I am pretty sure they are on right

The bolt does go through the sleve but if you compare the metal part on the ironman4x4fab mount to the metal part in the OEM shown in the pictures below you will see what I mean about more metal to torque down on in the OEM mounts. I am worried if I use the FSM 80 ft.lbs I am over torquing it.

Cheers

Chris
zj-40l-mm.jpg   17473.13.jpg  
purple_jeep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.