'98 ZJ Stalling While driving, now only starts after sitting long periods. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > '98 ZJ Stalling While driving, now only starts after sitting long periods.

Rough Country Deals at JeepHut.comSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft topsUp to $75 Cash Back on Your ARB Fridge Freezer Purchase

Unread 04-21-2013, 08:08 PM   #1
EveryDayZeeJay
1998 ZJ 

'98 ZJ Stalling While driving, now only starts after sitting long periods.

Hey guys, new sign up but long time lurker.

My '98 ZJ with the 242 4.0 inline 6 has started stalling on me randomly while driving, it has done it at different speeds. (back roads, main roads, freeway.) I am a IT guy by trade but worked in a race shop in my teens (Lozano Bros Porting) Used to be in San Antonio Texas. But I've torn down and washed a few hundred v8's and I'm somewhat mechanically inclined, but super newb at automotive electrical.

The first time it happened was about 3 weeks ago, I was on the freeway using cruise control and the engine just shuts off, I still have power etc and coast to the break down lane. I cranked on it a few times and eventually got it to fire within a couple of minutes and went on my way. About 5 miles later and off the freeway it felt like it was going to cut out then came back, split second it seemed like. Drove it home no issues.

Next day I go to work and come home for lunch with no issues. I leave to go back to work (within a half hour) and the Jeep again stalls a few blocks from home. I crank and crank on it till the point the battery dies. (old battery 6 years out of warranty on a (N)EverStart.)