98 ZJ Lift question - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 98 ZJ Lift question

Poison Spyder DeFenders™ - "Tubeless" Jeep FendeAll Bilstein shocks & struts - Lowest Prices Ever and Santa Kolak Announces: Kolak Exhaust 20% Off Sale!

Unread 04-04-2013, 02:46 PM   #1
Grand98
1998 ZJ 

98 ZJ Lift question

I just bought my first Jeep a few days ago. Its a 98 Grand Cherokee Laredo with a 4.0, 242 T/C, stock axles, and 33x12.50x15 tires. "Supposedly" it has a 6" lift on it, but its got the stock control arms on it. I guess my question is, can I use a long arm kit for a 4.5" lift kit instead of purchasing an entire 6" kit just to get the arms? Im new to the whole 4 wheel drive scene so all this is real unfamiliar to me. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Grand98 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-04-2013, 03:54 PM   #2
KyBoy1991
1998 ZJ 

I would highly doubt it's a real 6" kit. Sounds like someone tried to "sell" it as that to you. a 4.5" kit may cause it to rub with 33s depending on the wheels used. I guess someone could have installed 6" springs but d@mn that's gotta drive and ride like *****

IF you really want to do it right, then I would say YES get you a complete 4.5" long arm kit...but unless you have alot of time or a lot of friends with knowledge, I don't think it's the wisest of moves to try to install that yourself.
KyBoy1991 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-04-2013, 04:57 PM   #3
WhiteOut
Web Wheeler

1998 ZJ 

^ He is not talking about swapping the whole lift.