98 Grand Cherokee Sputtering - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-17-2010, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
kramer2105
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 1
98 Grand Cherokee Sputtering

After I start up my Grand Cherokee and let it run about 30 seconds, it will sputter for about 20 seconds and then run fine after that. The fuel pump was just replaced a couple weeks ago. Any suggestions as to what the problem is?

specs: 4.0L I6 all stock

kramer2105 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 09-17-2010, 08:50 PM
coloradojeeper9
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: florence
Posts: 123
I just got my zj a few days ago and yesterday and today I had that same problem. I have no ideas
coloradojeeper9 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 09-17-2010, 10:48 PM
jeffrayy
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: nashville, tn
Posts: 96
I have a 98 ZJ with the 4.0 doing the same thing. I think it is probably a sensor (cam shaft, O2, etc.) but I am not getting any codes when a diagnostic is run. I think the next step is to take out each sensor to check with a meter.
jeffrayy is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 Old 09-23-2010, 03:31 AM
hellonwheels
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 21
sputtering

There are lots of voodoo fixes you can try, and you might even spend thousands of dollars like i did trying to fix this problem, but you will never fix it, so the only real fix is to put it on craigslist and sell it fast. Its a jeep thing lol
hellonwheels is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-23-2010, 05:20 AM
gothchick
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 702
Ummm... Maybe just do a basic tune-up instead of trying to pawn it off on someone else? Try cleaning the IAC and TB for idling issues and a tuneup for the rest.
gothchick is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 09-23-2010, 05:27 AM
coralman
USER OF PARTS CATALOGS
 
coralman's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 7,918
Even if you check them all it could be an intermiitent failure, which is what it sounds like. Of all the miles of zj wiring that are 18=20 guage shorts are bound to happen. Just be patient you might be one of the luckty ones. If I wasn't spending money on the zj I'd be spending it on less important things like retirement,lol.
coralman is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-23-2010, 06:36 AM
Texas ZJ1
Jeep Jedi Master
 
Texas ZJ1's Avatar
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Omaha
Posts: 20,405
when was the last time you changed the wires? Ignition coil?

Hunter

04 4.7 HO, limited
04 4.7 HO, Overland

08 Z71 Suburban, front leveling kit with rear spacers. 285/65 18s Nitto TerraGrappler G2s

94 5.9 Laredo 6.5 RE lift with 35 Maxxis Bighorns
and 33 Bridgestone Duelers
Detroit and true trac
Red Jeep Club Member
REDNECK JCM
Texas Jeep Owner #6
USN Jeep Club #4

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

602.841.3355

For your performance needs:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

480.998.366
Texas ZJ1 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-10-2012, 04:21 PM
PAFirefighter11
Quadratec Live Chat Rep
 
PAFirefighter11's Avatar
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Flourtown, PA | Bethany, DE
Posts: 1,052
Any resolutions from you guys? Just curious.

-Rick R
-2015 JKU - 3.5" JKS JSPEC Kontrol, 315/70R17" MTZ's, 17x9" Quadratec Rubicon Xtreme's, JCR bumpers & skids, JW Speaker tails, Dirty Dog netting/screens, Quadratec Auto Mirror Movers, etc
-03 VW Golf TDI - Diesel
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-FDNY 9/11/01 - All gave some. Some gave all.
PAFirefighter11 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-10-2012, 04:59 PM
hellonwheels
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 21
Yes I found a resolution, I sold it on craigslist for for $1500.00, that seems to be the only real fix
hellonwheels is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-12-2012, 03:40 PM
PAFirefighter11
Quadratec Live Chat Rep
 
PAFirefighter11's Avatar
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Flourtown, PA | Bethany, DE
Posts: 1,052
FWIW: When mine did this, I unplugged the upstream o2 and it ran perfectly after that!

-Rick R
-2015 JKU - 3.5" JKS JSPEC Kontrol, 315/70R17" MTZ's, 17x9" Quadratec Rubicon Xtreme's, JCR bumpers & skids, JW Speaker tails, Dirty Dog netting/screens, Quadratec Auto Mirror Movers, etc
-03 VW Golf TDI - Diesel
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-FDNY 9/11/01 - All gave some. Some gave all.
PAFirefighter11 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-12-2012, 04:27 PM
cmax72ms
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Conroe
Posts: 22
Idle air control
cmax72ms is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 11-13-2012, 12:01 AM
Oldfrog
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 5,092
Could be one of several issues. The main one being the PCM. Next time it starts and dies.....turn the key off, pop the hood and wiggle ( actually press them in towards the firewall seems to work best) on the computer connector plugs. If it starts and runs...then wiggle them again while it's idling. If it tries to stall, you need a PCM, or you could fix yours, or send it to Kolak here on the forum for repair. But under no circumstances should you buy one from either of the outfits in Florida. ( been there, done that). I bought a Cardone brand at Oreilly's and the problem was solved.

It could also be bad battery connections...not just at the battery, but at the fender ground, and where they enter the fuse box under the hood.
Another thing could be a bad CPS. Get a MOPAR brand. The rest suck.

Try the PCM wiggle test and get back to us before we tell you more.
And as for the guy who said it cant be fixed and sold his Jeep....he's wrong in saying it cant be fixed. We fix them all the time around here. It took me 6 months of denial before I swapped my first PCM. The 96-98 4.0s are the worst about PCM issues...but once they're fixed...they're fixed. ( until you need another PCM).

2007 5.7 Hemi, Ltd. QD II -
1997 ZJ, 4,0 select trac, Up country, track lok.
Oldfrog is offline  
Reply

Tags
grand cherokee , inline 6 , sputtering

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
swapping a grand cherokee rearend for a cherokee dana 44 is it strait bolt in kojak70 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 11-02-2009 12:44 AM
98 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0L sputtering/losing power while driving corollatercel ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 09-20-2009 04:48 PM
Trailer Hitch swap from Cherokee to Grand Cherokee hitchikerjoe ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 4 09-29-2008 06:02 PM
1993 grand wagoneer/grand cherokee, alarm problem help! greenday1425 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 3 03-03-2007 12:16 PM
Grand Cherokee vs. Grand Wagoneer exhaust Wiley ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 12-31-2005 08:15 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome