98 GC TSI factory infinity gold head unit all of a sudden has no power, will not work - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 98 GC TSI factory infinity gold head unit all of a sudden has no power, will not work

JK Vent Covers - NalinMFGRCV Axles at CCORPoison spyder items @ oconee off road 706 534 9955

Reply
Unread 04-23-2013, 11:58 AM   #1
tuggey
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: florida
Posts: 111
98 GC TSI factory infinity gold head unit all of a sudden has no power, will not work

So had a thread going about how I wanted to keep the
factory amp and head unit but needed to change the
speakers cause they are all messed up and blown.

And long story short I went out to my jeep today
Started it and went to go put a cd in cause I never
put a cd in to see if the cd player part still works and
I noticed there was no lights or anything on the head unit.
Hit the power button on the radio along with a bunch of others
and still just get nothing no lights or sounds.
So I took the radio out of the dash and checked
all of the wiring in the back and they were fine.
Even unplugged and plugged them all back in.

I thought maybe the fuse was blown so I checked it and
it was still good but to be safe I switched
It out with a spare anyways and it still does not work.
It was working perfectly fine all of yesterday and earlier
today when I had to move my jeep.

So my question is before I just assume the head unit is bad
Is there anything else I can check or do ?
I mean the thing was working perfect, no cut outs
Or anything and just today bam nothing?

tuggey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-23-2013, 05:20 PM   #2
durango-bob
Registered User
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Posts: 2,745
Do you have a volt meter or test light? Verify that you have power at the connector on the back of the hear unit.
durango-bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-23-2013, 05:42 PM   #3
tuggey
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: florida
Posts: 111
I got a volt meter but not sure how to use it properly lol.
What setting do I out it on and what do I test?
Any other things I can test?
Is there only 1 fuse for the radio?
tuggey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-23-2013, 09:54 PM   #4
KoreaZJ
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GANGNAM STYLE
Posts: 2,666
Two fuses.

Junction Block Fuse#1 has +12v with key ON. (Connector Pin#6 below)
Junction Block Fuse#20 has +12v always. (Connector Pin#7 below)

Set meter to DCV (DC Volts). If it has manual range settings, select one greater than 12vdc. (Not needed for auto-ranging)

Touch black lead to any good unpainted chassis ground, bare metal, screw heads, etc.
Touch red lead to each Pin#6, check meter for +12v reading.
Touch red lead to each Pin#7, check meter for +12v reading.

You can also check for +12v on both ends of each fuse, same method.

KoreaZJ is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.