'95 Grand Cherokee - changing spark plugs - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > '95 Grand Cherokee - changing spark plugs

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineHalloween Savings to die for!We have Engo 10k Synthetic IN STOCK!!! Hurry while supplie

Unread 03-10-2004, 01:22 PM   #1
jeep95

'95 Grand Cherokee - changing spark plugs

Hi. I'm new to the jeep family and encountered a problem when I tried to change the spark plugs on the jeep. There are metal shields around each of the plugs and wire boot. They wouldn't come off easily and I ended up bending them and now can't get them back on. First, what is their purpose and next should I run the engine without them or replace them?

jeep95 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-10-2004, 04:10 PM   #2
Rjwrangler

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeep95
Hi. I'm new to the jeep family and encountered a problem when I tried to change the spark plugs on the jeep. There are metal shields around each of the plugs and wire boot. They wouldn't come off easily and I ended up bending them and now can't get them back on. First, what is their purpose and next should I run the engine without them or replace them?
My 98 Dodge had those on it. The only thing I could tell they did for sure was to hold lots of dirt and debris aroung the plug! I took them all off and never replaced them. There were no ill effects by doing so!

I should also mention that I switched wires to Accel 8.5 MM which are impervious to most engine harshes.
15x8 Rock Crawlers(Black)
Live to Wheel, Wheel to live!

Last edited by Rjwrangler; 03-11-2004 at 05:57 AM..
Rjwrangler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message