95 cherokee dangling hose - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 95 cherokee dangling hose

6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!50 in light bar /A pillar mount less than 500 at JeepHut.cFS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Unread 12-02-2005, 02:38 PM   #1
pjam

95 cherokee dangling hose

I'm a noob here, but I'm trying to help a friend.
This morning I noticed a small diameter (1/4 inch?) rubber hose dangling near the front of her 95 Cherokee. She told me that her thermostat had just been replaced, so maybe it came off during that work.
I got underneath and traced it back to the front axle. It is connected to the "pumpkin" part of the axle/drivetrain (gearbox?). I figured it was probably a vaccuum hose of some sort. I started looking for the nipple it should be connected to and found nothing. Didn't see anything on the air box , brake booster,power steering,etc.
I just secured it up out of the way so it wouldn't drag on the road for now.

Any ideas or links to hose routing diagrams? Again it is a 95 Cherokee.
Thanks

pjam is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-02-2005, 02:41 PM   #2
Woody
Retired back to Bowties

Front differential vent. You want it up so that moisture doesn't get down it. It's usually just clamped near the air filter box.
Unread 12-02-2005, 02:45 PM   #3
pjam

So the other end doesn't fit over anything? That makes sense. Also, I did see some plastic "hose holder" fittings on the inner wall of the air box. I guess I'll just pop it into one of those.
Thanks for the quick response!!

I drive a VW and have learned a lot from the VW Vortex forums. It's refreshing to visit another vehicle forum that is this helpful.