94 ZJ stalls and rough idle - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 94 ZJ stalls and rough idle

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Reply
Unread 12-26-2013, 09:04 AM   #1
BMF2005
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St.Cloud, MN
Posts: 1
94 ZJ stalls and rough idle

Ok everyone I'm new to the site and have done a lot of reading online about what seems to be a common issue. I bought a 5.2L, 94 ZJ at auction for 750 bucks! But now it won't idle for **it, It starts fine and will drive great but when I pull up to a light or stop sign it will stall or drop down to 200RPM. The new "problem" is it will idle on start and when you shift to D or R it will instantlly kill. I think its the CPS but want to be sure. I have cleaned the injectors, cleaned throttle body and replaced the IACV. Please help

BMF2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-26-2013, 09:48 AM   #2
zj97ltd
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cape Coral, FLORIDA
Posts: 904
If it only does it in gear it could be transmission related. Torque converter not slipping enough maybe.
zj97ltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-26-2013, 10:00 AM   #3
PolkaPower
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Abyss, MD
Posts: 15,081
When my TPS sensor was on it's way out it behaved the same way you are describing but it never actually stalled. When I would stop at a light it would bog down to very low RPM's. On the highway if I gave it throttle to pass it would cut off and bog down as well. I had to lightly give it gas to get it going steady again.
__________________
1998 5.9
Originally Posted by jabba974
"And yes, there is always a torque spec...but its not necessary...and takes way to much time...."
PolkaPower is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.