94 JGC Laredo 4x4 Advice Wanted - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 94 JGC Laredo 4x4 Advice Wanted

XJ Rail Sale!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!Vanco Big Brake Kit Promotion!

Unread 05-09-2002, 02:58 PM   #1
VentureForth

94 JGC Laredo 4x4 Advice Wanted

OK, I'm a newbie here, and was impatient to search the forums. 'Cides, it's good to just jump in sometimes and start chattin'.

I have a 1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo which I bought used two years ago with 140,000 miles. I paid a good price for it .

Took it to the Mountains last year in Colorado, and I swear it got 19-20 mpg! Overall, it's been a real reliable machine. The only major work I have done to it is to replace the exhuast manifold. Not too bad - only took two days by myself.

Here's my question. It's approaching 200,000 miles. I have a basic 4x4 system which just locks all fours to the trammy. Sometimes it doesn't want to come out of 4wd. It also has trouble getting in and out of 4x4 low & drivetrain neutral.

My next three items of 'regular maintenance' include 1) rebuild trammy, 2) rebuild transfer case, and 3) ring job on the engine.

My questions: Should I go ahead and do a ring job or replace the engine (6 cyl)? How hard is it for a couple mechanically inclined, but inexperienced guys to rework the trammy and transfer case? Is there something that I'm missing which should be an obvious first step to maintaining the Jeep?

Thanks!

VentureForth is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-11-2002, 07:07 AM   #2
GrandCherokeeLifer