'94 Grand Cherokee Shifting Problem! Changed Trans still not shifting! - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > '94 Grand Cherokee Shifting Problem! Changed Trans still not shifting!

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueComponent speaker deal for your dash - NalinMFG

Reply
Unread 04-06-2010, 11:28 AM   #16
motoxracer1551
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 16
Going to check codes now.

__________________
1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee I6
1995 3000GT VR4 - FAST!!
motoxracer1551 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2010, 01:02 PM   #17
motoxracer1551
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 16
Got codes 21, 22, 23, for the transmission.

21-Governor pressure solenoid output
22 Overdrive solenoid output
23-Converter clutch solenoid output

What do you think I should do?
__________________
1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee I6
1995 3000GT VR4 - FAST!!
motoxracer1551 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2010, 03:29 PM   #18
motoxracer1551
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 16
TCU? Could all of the solenoids be bad in both transmissions, doesn't seem likely. But anythings possible i guess. So should I just try and find a used one from a junkyard or is there a way to test the tcu?
__________________
1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee I6
1995 3000GT VR4 - FAST!!
motoxracer1551 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 04:08 AM   #19
perfectcircle
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: , Tennessee
Posts: 844
I am assuming you've reset the computer after you installed your new tranny? If not, do it. Then drive it and check the codes again. These codes could be from the old tranny (and would have saved you a lot of money). If not and these are in fact still coming up than all you gotta do is change the sensors. The OD and TCC is one sensor together, and the g.press solenoid is another one but it's suggested to change the sensor and solenoid together. you can do this in your driveway with a little bit of time. Writeup: Replace Overdrive Solenoid + Gov Pressure Sensor/Solenoid 42re - MallCrawlin.com Forums

Before changing anything, check the plug on the outside of the transmission just behind the shift linkage. Make sure it's not cracked and all the prongs are straight and in tact.
perfectcircle is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 07:14 AM   #20
Bigwidge
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 171
Mine says. Beep.....beep.beep.beep.beep.beep.....beep.beep.be ep.beep.beep....???
Bigwidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 11:12 AM   #21
motoxracer1551
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigwidge View Post
Mine says. Beep.....beep.beep.beep.beep.beep.....beep.beep.be ep.beep.beep....???
i think that would be code 55, so your not getting an error code.
__________________
1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee I6
1995 3000GT VR4 - FAST!!
motoxracer1551 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 01:00 PM   #22
Bigwidge
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 171
okay, the last repair shop i was at said something about it possibly being a lose wire somewhere, causing the failsafe to start, but i dont understand how a 'lose wire' can work in the summer, but not in the winter. My car shifts fine now that its getting warm, even if it does shift hard. But in the winter it seems to start out in 3rd gear or something.
Bigwidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 01:45 PM   #23
motoxracer1551
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 16
I unplugged the TCU and tried driving manually. Won't go into first gear.
__________________
1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee I6
1995 3000GT VR4 - FAST!!
motoxracer1551 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 02:25 PM   #24
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoxracer1551 View Post
I unplugged the TCU and tried driving manually. Won't go into first gear.
that is correct operation with no power.
__________________
'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 08:39 PM   #25
baxy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: cranbrook
Posts: 1,443
your losing power to the transmission somewhere intermittantly
relay, wiring , corrosion , fuse, connection at the battery or fuse box
to me it sounds like something is green somewhere
baxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 09:21 PM   #26
JrMechanic
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 3,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratmonkey View Post
Od light for tranny codes. Cel for engine codes.

Check your codes if you want help. You're in limp mode and the computer will tell you why if it didn't fail.
There is no limp mode on a 94.

To me, it sounds like the TCM doesn't know what the hell is going on. It's not getting accurate readings from either of the sensors. This tells me you have a bad connection at the transmission, or the TCM is bad.

Also with the TCM disconnected, it should start in 1st gear and shift though 3rd gear. The shifts will be extremely sloppy and inconsistent, however it should shift. If not I'd say you have a problem with the new transmission as well.
__________________
Want to swap an NP242 or NP231 into your ZJ? Here's how:
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/n...pdated-685644/
JrMechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 09:31 PM   #27
Virmagicus
Headed Out West
 
Virmagicus's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 6,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by greasefingers View Post
The TCM, transmission control module, will throw codes just like the Power Control Module will. I believe there are only separte TCMs on the years 1993 to 1995. To read the codes you count the number of times the Over Drive lamp lights. The Over Drive lamp is located on the over drive switch.

Extracting Fault Codes:
Without ever starting the engine Turn the ignition switch ON, OFF, ON, OFF, ON and observe the Over Drive lamp. The Over Drive lamp should begin to flash a series of codes. The flashes will be separated by short and long pauses. The long pauses separate the "ones" and "tens" positions, and each code from the next. A code 55 will be displayed at the end of the test.

Tranny codes for 1994 OD button LED

11 Engine RPM input
12 Output shaft sensor input
13 Vehicle speed input
14 Governor pressure sensor input
15 Throttle position sensor input
16 Transmission fluid temperature input
17 Overdrive override (control) switch input
18 System voltage
19 Internal fault in module
21 Governor pressure solenoid output
22 Overdrive solenoid output
23 Converter clutch solenoid output
24 Overdrive override (control switch) lamp output
25 Internal fault in module
26 Governor pressure sensor offset drift
55 End of code transmission

For the V8 guys reading, this will only work on the 4.0's 93-95. No go on the 46RH.
Virmagicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 09:32 PM   #28
baxy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: cranbrook
Posts: 1,443
I never seen an RE go into first gear with no power to the trans
manually they only seem to ever get 2nd gear
there is too much govenor pressure with no power to the solenoid to allow the valve to move for a 1st start

also the TCM doesn't control line rise so the shifts can't get sloppy from disconnecting the trans or TCM
baxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 09:42 PM   #29
JrMechanic
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 3,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by baxy View Post
I never seen an RE go into first gear with no power to the trans
manually they only seem to ever get 2nd gear
there is too much govenor pressure with no power to the solenoid to allow the valve to move for a 1st start

also the TCM doesn't control line rise so the shifts can't get sloppy from disconnecting the trans or TCM
I may be mistaken about the 1st gear start. Thinking back to when I was trouble shooting my 42RE I could have sworn it started in 1st gear. Maybe not though.

And of course the TCM doesn't control line pressure, however the shifts will still be sloppy without input from the gov pressure sensor.
__________________
Want to swap an NP242 or NP231 into your ZJ? Here's how:
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/n...pdated-685644/
JrMechanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2010, 09:45 PM   #30
Virmagicus
Headed Out West
 
Virmagicus's Avatar
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 6,428
Maybe the OP thinks it is getting to first when it is indeed second?
Virmagicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.