94 grand cherokee front drive shaft compatibility - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 94 grand cherokee front drive shaft compatibility

Labor Day Sale!FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 03-30-2009, 08:57 PM   #1
berkdog84

94 grand cherokee front drive shaft compatibility

I have a 1994 jeep grand cherokee limited AUTO TRNAS with no front drive shaft. I am new to the jeep world and would like to know what years and what models have interchangeable front driveshafts?

Also can you please provide some means for me to identify what body styles and characteristics i should be looking for if i went to a junk yard looking for a donner jeep? Or what in characteristic should I be looking at to signify year?

berkdog84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-30-2009, 09:28 PM   #2
Virmagicus
Headed Out West

1998 ZJ 

93-95 is your best bet. The lines on the front bumper are straight and do not dip like the 96-98.
Virmagicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-30-2009, 10:17 PM   #3
rustynail
1996 ZJ 

Look at you yoke on your front driveshaft. If it is round you need a cv style driveshaft, if it looks like it will hold a u joint, then it is a u joint style shaft. If it is u joint then I think you can use a cherokee shaft which will make finding one more likely since there are way more cherokees at u pull parts places than grand cherokees. Measure for length before you go hunting. I would guess that you're not limited to 93-95 but I'm not positive on that.