93 4.0l ZJ Alternator Test good but won't charge! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 93 4.0l ZJ Alternator Test good but won't charge!

FS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 09-01-2008, 07:30 AM   #1
nkropelnicki
1993 ZJ 

93 4.0l ZJ Alternator Test good but won't charge!

I'm a newbie to Jeeps, just bought mine a couple weeks ago, however for some reason, the alternator isn't charging the battery! pulled the alternator, & tested out @ 60 amps, so i know it puts out. I had corrosion, so i changed the cables out, & i checked the fuses & the ground connection as well as the belt tension and everything checked out fine. A couple times, i could turn on the a/c & the voltmeter would jump from my 9 volts to 14 instantly, but now it won't even go to 12 volts, even @ 2,500rpm. I've looked on the forums & found something in relation to the regulator in the ECU, but after a reset, i still cannot find the source of the problem! Can someone help me so i don't have to continue driving my wife's (Pink) car to work???

nkropelnicki is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-01-2008, 09:13 AM   #2
sandman
1993 ZJ 

do you have a good ground?
Unread 09-01-2008, 02:23 PM   #3
nkropelnicki
1993 ZJ 

Of course i do, i only drive on pavement until i get good at working on them.

I am SO kidding.

"...i checked the fuses & the ground connection as well as the belt tension and everything checked out fine."
Unread 09-01-2008, 03:07 PM   #4
mopar3389
1998 TJ Wrangler