5.9 Magnum swap into my 95 5.2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 5.9 Magnum swap into my 95 5.2

Dana 30/ Dana 44 Chromoly shaft Kits- ECGSFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201

Unread 05-23-2014, 12:46 PM   #1
Myusername1674
Web Wheeler

1995 ZJ 

5.9 Magnum swap into my 95 5.2

So this thread is basically going to be a 'build' of my engine swap, I'm new to engine work (never attempted anything like this) so any critique and advise is more than welcome. The main reason I've taken this project on is because I wanted to learn about engines, without having to tear down the engine that is currently in my Jeep. I figured why not buy a 5.9, learn about it, fix it up and swap it in?

So going on that I went out and bought a 5.9 Magnum engine from a 99 Dodge Ram.

Home and on the stand

As you can tell it needs some work. So begins the tear down.

dirty

Heads off

This is pretty much were I am now, I have the oil pan off and will be taking the timing cover and chain when I get some free time.

So here's the plan

Keep everything stock, or mostly stock.

Take the block to get cleaned and machined as needed.
Replace Pistons if needed
New timing chain
New water pump
New heads if needed
Pretty much new everything

I have a ton of work left to do, but I wanted to go ahead and get this posted, hopefully any engine gurus can advise me and make sure I'm pointed in the right direction.

Like I said, I've never done engine work, ever, so this is all new to me. If the project fails, I'm only out some time and money, and at least I'll have learned about engines.

Thanks for checking it out

Unread 05-23-2014, 01:09 PM   #2
samuraiwarrior2