42re in "limp mode" - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 42re in "limp mode"

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Clayton Off Road JK Short Arm Suspension Kits

Reply
Unread 07-02-2011, 08:31 AM   #1
technophat
Member
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Reaford, NC
Posts: 115
42re in "limp mode"

ok so there was this couch... It was abandoned and mocking me for a month. So I ran it over... Several times. It turns out that the couch got its revenge on my last pass. I tore out the wiring to my Output Shaft Speed Sensor and broke off the sensor itself. Seems easy right? Nope.

I went to a junk yard and acquired the replacement wiring and replaced the Speed Sensor. Still in "limp mode". I then replaced the Transmission Governor Pressure Sensor and the Transmission Pressure Sensor Transducer while I had the pan cracked (with a trans fluid and filter change of course).

Here's the extra info: CEL shows P1762 and P1763, I have checked all the fuses, and disconnected the battery after the parts install. By "limp mode" I mean that I am either locked into first gear, or that I have all the gears BUT first gear.

I'm going to need help with this one.

technophat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2011, 08:35 AM   #2
elf517
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 149
Couch 1 Jeep 0
elf517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2011, 08:44 AM   #3
Dodgeram1989
Registered User
1976 FSJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 347
Well those are both codes for the Governor pressure sensor. Did you check the wiring running to them?
__________________
[CENTER][FONT="Comic Sans MS"]97 ZJ - Stock again
1976 Chief AMC 360 6 in lift, 35 inch tires[/FONT]
[/CENTER]
Dodgeram1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2011, 09:00 AM   #4
technophat
Member
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Reaford, NC
Posts: 115
I'm not really sure how to check the wiring other than to visually look for problems, but a second look won't hurt anything.
technophat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2011, 12:12 PM   #5
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,795
check the trans fuses. could have shorted when you mangled the wiring.
__________________
'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2011, 01:29 PM   #6
technophat
Member
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Reaford, NC
Posts: 115
I'm aware of the fuse block near the passenger side kick panel, and the block near the battery under the hood. Are their more fuse blocks, or would the trans fuses be in one of those two?
technophat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2011, 01:44 PM   #7
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,795
it's in the power dist center. the one under the hood.
__________________
'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2011, 01:57 PM   #8
gothchick
Registered User
1998 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 702
If the wiring and fuses check out, I'd disconnect the battery. Might help to reset the PCM...
__________________
Don't fear the regear.

Finished 4x2 --> 4x4 conversion.
gothchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2011, 02:01 PM   #9
technophat
Member
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Reaford, NC
Posts: 115
[IMG][/IMG]
All fuses check out, but the top left fuse (20amp Cooling Fan) has no fuse present and one of two contacts in place. Should there be a fuse here? (My interior blower motor is not working).
__________________
1997 ZJ Laredo, 4.0, 42re trans, 242 T-case
1994 ZJ Laredo, 4.0, 42re trans, NP231 T-case
technophat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-02-2011, 05:56 PM   #10
technophat
Member
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Reaford, NC
Posts: 115
ok I just re-checked the wiring, and it appears to be connected to everything that it should be connected to, and I disconnected the battery again for several hours with no change... "limp mode" ensues. I'm out of any intelligent ideas. The transmission shop vultures are circling and starting to drool. HELP!
__________________
1997 ZJ Laredo, 4.0, 42re trans, 242 T-case
1994 ZJ Laredo, 4.0, 42re trans, NP231 T-case
technophat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-11-2011, 02:39 PM   #11
technophat
Member
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Reaford, NC
Posts: 115
Update

Several days after I replaced the Governor Pressure Solenoid and the Pressure Sensor Transducer, my trans began to shift properly again. My best guess is that it took some time/miles to work the trans fluid into the new parts?? Can anyone shed some light on if this is a possible/likely reason, or if I still have a problem that may return?
__________________
1997 ZJ Laredo, 4.0, 42re trans, 242 T-case
1994 ZJ Laredo, 4.0, 42re trans, NP231 T-case
technophat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.