4.0 ZJ turns over but won't start - Page 5 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 4.0 ZJ turns over but won't start

New jk doors from steinjagerEliminate Hood Flutter!!!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Reply
Unread 09-01-2013, 06:46 PM   #61
Oldfrog
Web Wheeler
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 3,892
You arent done yet, grasshopper. Zeejay will now probably walk you thru the crank sensor testing procedure. Thank HIM. He's awesome !

__________________
Cajun Recipes and Fishing tips

Words of wisdom, Posted by Zeejay:
"..it's not air, it is the opposite of air... suckage so to speak."

Stalling? Work through Zeejay's list
Oldfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2013, 06:48 PM   #62
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City, Fl
Posts: 163
So why would crank sensor make the fuel pump not work?
JBrady5555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2013, 06:57 PM   #63
Oldfrog
Web Wheeler
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 3,892
Switch "ON": ( engine not running):

Open loop mode. PCM prepositions IAC motor based upon engine coolant temp. Gets info from MAP sensor, intake air temp, and TPS input. It activates auto shutdown relay, which activates fuel pump relay for 3 seconds unless engine is cranked. If engine doesnt crank, fuel pump relay ( via autoshutdown relay) is shut off.

At start up:
The computer gets info from the crank sensor, TPS, battery voltage, cam sensor, engine coolant sensor, IAT and Map. Based on those inputs, voltage is applied to the injectors.
__________________
Cajun Recipes and Fishing tips

Words of wisdom, Posted by Zeejay:
"..it's not air, it is the opposite of air... suckage so to speak."

Stalling? Work through Zeejay's list
Oldfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2013, 07:04 PM   #64
Oldfrog
Web Wheeler
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 3,892
The TPS, Map sensor and crank sensor share the same 5 volt supply feed. If one of those pulls that 5 volts down to ground, then it affects all three.
__________________
Cajun Recipes and Fishing tips

Words of wisdom, Posted by Zeejay:
"..it's not air, it is the opposite of air... suckage so to speak."

Stalling? Work through Zeejay's list
Oldfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2013, 07:15 PM   #65
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City, Fl
Posts: 163
Awesome thanks
JBrady5555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2013, 07:30 PM   #66
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweet Home, Alabama
Posts: 6,440
Go ahead and order a Mopar crank sensor.

IMO, no other testing is necessary.

If you just want to hone your meter using skills, here's the test.

If it reads between 0 and 10k ohms, its bad.
ZeeJay1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2013, 07:35 PM   #67
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City, Fl
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeeJay1997 View Post
Go ahead and order a Mopar crank sensor.

IMO, no other testing is necessary.

If you just want to hone your meter using skills, here's the test.

If it reads between 0 and 10k ohms, its bad.
Ok gonna order the molar sensor, any tricks I need to know for removal and installation?
JBrady5555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2013, 07:38 PM   #68
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweet Home, Alabama
Posts: 6,440
it's strange that you zapped your crank sensor by shorting the battery posts. I was expecting the PCM to be zapped. You may not be out of the woods yet, but you're not even going to be on the trail with a shorted crank sensor.
ZeeJay1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2013, 07:43 PM   #69
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweet Home, Alabama
Posts: 6,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBrady5555 View Post
any tricks I need to know for removal and installation?
you'll need a lot of patience, I changed mine out several years ago and all I remeber about was that I made up some cuss words, used a long 1/4 extension, a taped up swivel, and a 10mm socket from underneath the vehicle. It helps to have someone up top to help keep the the tools on the bolt.

The sensor will come with a felt tip on the end. leave it on there and push the sensor in as tight as you can with one finger, then tighten the bolt.
ZeeJay1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2013, 07:50 PM   #70
Oldfrog
Web Wheeler
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 3,892
I hope you have small hands....because it's a biotch unless you want to remove that dang ....TV ? ..cable. I think I used a LONG extension AND another 10 inch extension with a taped up wobble joint. Came up from the back of the tranny, as I recall.


Unless you want to perform this task again, get ONLY a Mopar CPS. Dont try to save $ by using an aftermarket sensor.
__________________
Cajun Recipes and Fishing tips

Words of wisdom, Posted by Zeejay:
"..it's not air, it is the opposite of air... suckage so to speak."

Stalling? Work through Zeejay's list
Oldfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2013, 08:04 PM   #71
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweet Home, Alabama
Posts: 6,440
And also, be sure the switch is off and disconnect the battery now While you have it disconnected, clean the two grounds on the side of the block that Oldfrog was telling you about earlier. They are critical to your fuel/ignition system.
ZeeJay1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-02-2013, 12:40 PM   #72
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City, Fl
Posts: 163
Does it have to be mopar? Advanced only has bwd in stock.
JBrady5555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-02-2013, 12:58 PM   #73
Oldfrog
Web Wheeler
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 3,892
Yes. It HAS to be Mopar....or you'll be removing it and doing it again a day later.
__________________
Cajun Recipes and Fishing tips

Words of wisdom, Posted by Zeejay:
"..it's not air, it is the opposite of air... suckage so to speak."

Stalling? Work through Zeejay's list
Oldfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-02-2013, 02:12 PM   #74
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweet Home, Alabama
Posts: 6,440
call the dealership and price one. this is the part number you need

There are other mopar retailers online but I cant attest to their service.

I've been running a Sorenson from NAPA for a few years with no problems, but i could have had a Mopar for the same price.
ZeeJay1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-02-2013, 02:33 PM   #75
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City, Fl
Posts: 163
Mopar it is, thanks guys
JBrady5555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.