4.0 ZJ turns over but won't start - Page 4 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #46 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City
Posts: 163
I don't even see a asd fuse. Just a relay

JBrady5555 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 06:36 PM
Speedymcracer01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBrady5555 View Post

visual check, I could see all of them except the tiny ones. I had to pull them to check.
Try checking them with a fuse tester sometimes they look good but there not
Speedymcracer01 is offline  
post #48 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 06:40 PM
Oldfrog
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 5,092
Side bar:
It's 97 4.0, right ?
Dont laugh, but how much fuel is in the tank? More than 1/2 tank?
There was a recall on the 97 fuel sending units. They would show 1/4 tank when they were empty.

I'll go outside to my 97 and I.D. the fuse I'm talking about.
Meanwhile...stay with Zeejay's troubleshooting procedure.

2007 5.7 Hemi, Ltd. QD II -
1997 ZJ, 4,0 select trac, Up country, track lok.
Oldfrog is offline  
post #49 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 06:47 PM Thread Starter
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedymcracer01 View Post
Try checking them with a fuse tester sometimes they look good but there not
I just did that and everything was good except for the horn fuse but it could have been like that when I bought it, I never checked it before. I actually pulled the cooling fan fuse and put it in the horn fuse spot and it blew that fuse too after the horn made a horrible noise,lol. It's probably been out of commission for awhile. I did notice when I pulled the cooling fan fuse that there was only a prong in one side of the fuse slot. Doesn't that defeat the purpose of having a fuse if only one side plugs into something?

Still puzzled about my problem, I kept my g dad's volt meter so I can check more stuff as I continue to troubleshoot here on jeep forum.
JBrady5555 is offline  
post #50 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 06:53 PM Thread Starter
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldfrog View Post
Side bar:
It's 97 4.0, right ?
Dont laugh, but how much fuel is in the tank? More than 1/2 tank?
There was a recall on the 97 fuel sending units. They would show 1/4 tank when they were empty.

I'll go outside to my 97 and I.D. the fuse I'm talking about.
Meanwhile...stay with Zeejay's troubleshooting procedure.
I was showing over a half tank. It has been that way for a while now though. I had the big sludge thread many weeks ago. Also the freeze plug job thread. Once I got all the work done I filled up the truck, it hasn't seen many miles but has spent slot of time idling in the yard. I don't think it's out though because since it started not running I can't hear the fuel pump priming, even from laying under the tank.
JBrady5555 is offline  
post #51 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 06:54 PM
Speedymcracer01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBrady5555 View Post

I just did that and everything was good except for the horn fuse but it could have been like that when I bought it, I never checked it before. I actually pulled the cooling fan fuse and put it in the horn fuse spot and it blew that fuse too after the horn made a horrible noise,lol. It's probably been out of commission for awhile. I did notice when I pulled the cooling fan fuse that there was only a prong in one side of the fuse slot. Doesn't that defeat the purpose of having a fuse if only one side plugs into something?

Still puzzled about my problem, I kept my g dad's volt meter so I can check more stuff as I continue to troubleshoot here on jeep forum.
I don't recommend what I'm about to say but i have took the pcm apart and tested the circuits in it with a curcuit tester to determine wether or not the pcm in my 98 zj was my problem when mine did this
Speedymcracer01 is offline  
post #52 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 06:55 PM
Oldfrog
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 5,092
Ok, the fuse I'm talking about is under hood....and it's the small 15 amp ( blue) one closest to the passenger side and closest to the firewall. Take it out, check it with the ohmmeter and if it's OK, clean the blades and reinstall it.

I just cleaned mine, as well as the blades on the large 40 amp for the ignition. Was surprised at how nasty they had become in less than a year.

2007 5.7 Hemi, Ltd. QD II -
1997 ZJ, 4,0 select trac, Up country, track lok.
Oldfrog is offline  
post #53 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 07:04 PM
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBrady5555 View Post
I got .16 and .7 on the outer pins. 1.46 in the middle pin.
how did you have your leads configured? just put one lead in each outside socket at the same time and read the voltage.

if you have less than 5 give or take .5 volts, disconect the crank sensor and see if the voltage appears.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ZeeJay1997 is offline  
post #54 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeeJay1997 View Post
how did you have your leads configured? just put one lead in each outside socket at the same time and read the voltage.

if you have less than 5 give or take .5 volts, disconect the crank sensor and see if the voltage appears.
Ok I'll try that. I had the black lead on the negative and checked the plug with the red. How do I disconnect the crank sensor, where is the plug located?
JBrady5555 is offline  
post #55 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 07:20 PM
Oldfrog
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 5,092
Crank sensor plug is located below the oil dipstick on mine...yours may be a little higher.

2007 5.7 Hemi, Ltd. QD II -
1997 ZJ, 4,0 select trac, Up country, track lok.
Oldfrog is offline  
post #56 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 07:21 PM
ZeeJay1997
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,835
the connector at the rear of the engine block or on the firewall on the passenger side. theres an area where several bundles come together. find a single connector with three wires. it comes in to this area from the top of the bellhousing.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ZeeJay1997 is offline  
post #57 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeeJay1997 View Post
the connector at the rear of the engine block or on the firewall on the passenger side. theres an area where several bundles come together. find a single connector with three wires. it comes in to this area from the top of the bellhousing.
Ok it only showed .69 when I checked it the correct way. Gonna disconnect sensor and try right now. Now that I know where crank sensor plug is.
JBrady5555 is offline  
post #58 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 07:33 PM Thread Starter
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City
Posts: 163
After unplugging the crank sensor I got 5 volts at the throttle body plug. What does this mean?
JBrady5555 is offline  
post #59 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 07:39 PM
Oldfrog
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana/Texas
Posts: 5,092
Bingo ! Crank sensor shorted to ground. Either the wires or the sensor itself.

2007 5.7 Hemi, Ltd. QD II -
1997 ZJ, 4,0 select trac, Up country, track lok.
Oldfrog is offline  
post #60 of 81 Old 09-01-2013, 07:44 PM Thread Starter
JBrady5555
Registered User
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Panama City
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldfrog View Post
Bingo ! Crank sensor shorted to ground. Either the wires or the sensor itself.
What should be my plan of attack on fixing the issue, also looks like the sensor would be hard to change out being on top of bell housing. Wires would be hard to check too all clustered together.

Big thanks to all who helped and a real big thanks to zeejay.
JBrady5555 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome