3" Budget Lift - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 3" Budget Lift

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsSavvy/Currie Aluminum Control Arms

Unread 07-15-2013, 02:09 AM   #1
Jramos43
1996 ZJ 

3" Budget Lift

I'm putting 3" blocks on the springs but just that for now. What risks am I running at if any ?

Unread 07-15-2013, 02:19 AM   #2
Oldfrog
Web Wheeler
1997 ZJ 

I'm thinking....death, maybe?
I think you have to change more than just adding blocks under the springs if you want to go over 2 inches. Pinion angles might need changing, sway bar end links...shocks, track bar...etc. But I'm no expert on lifts for certain. 'Just seem to have heard anything over 2 inches needs a lot of stuff for the geometry to be right.

Words of wisdom, Posted by Zeejay:
"..it's not air, it is the opposite of air... suckage so to speak."

Stalling? Work through Zeejay's list
Oldfrog is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-15-2013, 02:35 AM   #3
Jramos43
1996 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldfrog View Post
I'm thinking....death, maybe?
I think you have to change more than just adding blocks under the springs if you want to go over 2 inches. Pinion angles might need changing, sway bar end links...shocks, track bar...etc. But I'm no expert on lifts for certain. 'Just seem to have heard anything over 2 inches needs a lot of stuff for the geometry to be right.
Yeah ill be adding all that soon, but if I drive it with just the 3inch for say.... 3-4 weeks will anything major break? Hopefully not death lol
Unread 07-15-2013, 08:53 AM   #4
PolkaPower
1998 ZJ