2nd Gen 4.7 in WJ? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 2nd Gen 4.7 in WJ?

2014 Spartan Locker Special - While Supplies Last! Dana 3The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!The RuffStuff "I can't go to EJS" Sale!

Reply
Unread 09-19-2009, 05:32 PM   #1
schmie
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 22
2nd Gen 4.7 in WJ?

Well the 4.7 in my Grand Cherokee grenaded yesterday. The rig is my dd, so I think I'll put in a used motor to get it back on the road quick. My question is this: can I put a second generation 4.7 (2008+) in? I like the sound of an extra 60 horse. Has anyone done this? Would I just be better off with just an HO? Or just stick to the regular one? What kind of electrical issues would I have to address?

schmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2009, 05:37 PM   #2
duntov
Registered User
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan, Fussa
Posts: 139
Curious how many miles you had in it?
__________________
1998 Jeep Cherokee Classic, Chili Pepper Red, 4.0, 4WD, 3" OME Full Leaf, JKS QD, JL Sub, Sony CD w/Ipod adapter, Polk Audio Speakers, Uniden CB Radio. JCR Front Prerunner bumper, JCR Stage 3 Sliders, Reese hitch, Yakima Rack, Mopar spare tire rack.

2013 Jeep Unlimited, Gecko. Bone Stock.
duntov is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2009, 05:39 PM   #3
schmie
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 22
130700. Wednesday morning i noticed it was ticking, checked the oil and it was about a quart low, so I changed it in the afternoon. The ticking quit for about 10 miles, then started up again. Then last night it gave. I dunno what exactly is wrong, but the last mile trying to get it into a town i couldnt see out of the rear view because of all the smoke.
schmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2009, 05:59 PM   #4
xJoshxx
Web Wheeler
 
xJoshxx's Avatar
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Burlington, Kentucky
Posts: 5,497
I would love to see a 2nd Gen 4.7

But the 4.7HO will fit no problems.
__________________
Interested in Amsoil? Sold4" Hybrid lift TeraFlex coils IRO Adjustable LA's Jks tracbar 1.25spidertrax spacers 265/75/16 Dura-tracs
Quote:
Originally Posted by moPowered View Post
The SRt-8's are a liberty design.
2011 WK2 ORA2
2012 WK2 SRT8
xJoshxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2009, 06:26 PM   #5
schmie
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 22
well i mean 2nd gen as in the 2008+ motors, which are rated for 290/330 tq. i understand it would be a long shot finding a wrecked one, but i was entertaining the idea. i may be wrong but i think that they had different heads with 16 spark plugs.
schmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2009, 10:06 PM   #6
Mikeg175
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 131
Would he need to upgrade anything if he went with the H.O. , I know the bolt up would be easy , but what about the electronics ? Ecu and so forth ?
Mikeg175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2009, 10:14 PM   #7
Texas WJ
Web Wheeler
 
Texas WJ's Avatar
2005 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 2,039
Quote:
...i may be wrong but i think that they had different heads with 16 spark plugs.
Yep, 16.
The engine is rated at 305 hp and 334 lb-ft torque.

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK - Engines
__________________
255/75-17 BF Goodrich Mud Terrain TA KMs, 2" lift, JK Wrangler Moab wheels, Spidertrax Spacers, Rola Roof Rack.
Texas WJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-20-2009, 05:48 AM   #8
MuddyLuxury
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,425
Can the dual spark plugs be wired up to one plug... that just sparks both of them? would need some kind of ignition booster kit.

also, does anybody know if the 3.0 turbo diesel can be put into a WJ??
__________________
-Jeb
99 WJ 4.7V8 selc-trac swap
285s re-tread
IRO 6.5 Long Arms
Aussie Locked Rear

in the works... lots deployments are great for jeep budgets

Go Doorless!


Things i need..
good spots in the mid atlantic to camp, hike, fish, kyak and wheel, if you know please share

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5.9 ANDY
i would do the rear.
MuddyLuxury is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-20-2009, 08:44 AM   #9
xJoshxx
Web Wheeler
 
xJoshxx's Avatar
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Burlington, Kentucky
Posts: 5,497
anything can be put in it's all the about $$$$
__________________
Interested in Amsoil? Sold4" Hybrid lift TeraFlex coils IRO Adjustable LA's Jks tracbar 1.25spidertrax spacers 265/75/16 Dura-tracs
Quote:
Originally Posted by moPowered View Post
The SRt-8's are a liberty design.
2011 WK2 ORA2
2012 WK2 SRT8
xJoshxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-20-2009, 11:14 PM   #10
elmer_fud
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: colorado
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyLuxury View Post
Can the dual spark plugs be wired up to one plug... that just sparks both of them? would need some kind of ignition booster kit.

also, does anybody know if the 3.0 turbo diesel can be put into a WJ??
only one of the plugs would fire if they are in parallel and the spark would be weaker if they were in series. It is not a good idea to wire the plugs together.

Swapping in a diesel engine requires a lot of custom fabrication and electronics
__________________
Brian
95 ZJ, 5.2 V8,160,000 miles
Colorado Jeep Club member Pi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedycat View Post
I am not one to be changing lanes at 70 mph on a lifted truck on 33's, but since I am in Miami, I have to be prepared for the continuous influx of new drivers whose previous ride was a bicycle with wooden wheels.
Quote:
Originally Posted by FPKites View Post
badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, badger, Mushroom!!! :D
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeeJay1997 View Post
Or just tie a 12 lb fish to a one foot pipe.
elmer_fud is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2009, 08:57 AM   #11
Mikeg175
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 131
Semi-hijacking here , but I have a lot of miles on my standard 4.7 and was wondering other then motor , what else would have to be installed/removed to make a H.O. work . I'd like the extra hp , if there is a ton of work , probably not worth it to me . Thanks
Mikeg175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2009, 09:58 AM   #12
schmie
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 22
Mikeg175:
thats not a hijack. im thinking the same. i was doing a little more looking around and it looks like the 2008+ motor isnt really gonna work. but how about that HO? has anybody done this? could i get by with putting the motor in and getting a reflash?
schmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2009, 10:11 AM   #13
rm2001wj
Web Wheeler
 
rm2001wj's Avatar
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,040
First of probably several electrical problems would be that the HO has two knock sensors which allows its PCM to adjust timing when regular gas is used instead premium. As you might expect, your regular 4.7 PCM can't use knock sensor signals. With a 9.7:1 compression ratio, you would be stuck with using premium in the HO.
__________________
2001 WJ Limited with Quadra-Drive, Kenne Bell Supercharger, 3-inch Kolak exhaust, Stillen rotors (F/R) and MM pads, Addco sway bars (F/R).
rm2001wj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2009, 10:22 AM   #14
CanadianZed-J
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sudbury, ON.
Posts: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by rm2001wj View Post
First of probably several electrical problems would be that the HO has two knock sensors which allows its PCM to adjust timing when regular gas is used instead premium. As you might expect, your regular 4.7 PCM can't use knock sensor signals. With a 9.7:1 compression ratio, you would be stuck with using premium in the HO.

So the HO PCM defaults on the super-timing?



CZJ.
__________________
So I installed the flux capacitor but the Jeep just won't do 88 mph.

-'99 WJ Limited, 4.7, Patriot Blue, 2" BB, 31" Mall-Terrains, Pavement Princess
-'97 TJ, Stone White, 4" Superlift, 33" SSRs, lunchboxed rear, 12K Titan winch, and 2.5 litres of exhillirating performance.
CanadianZed-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2009, 10:56 AM   #15
rm2001wj
Web Wheeler
 
rm2001wj's Avatar
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianZed-J View Post
So the HO PCM defaults on the super-timing?



CZJ.
Yes, that's the only way it can tell if regular (knock sensors detect knocking) or premium (knock sensors don't detect knocking) is being used. However, if regular has been burned for a while (timing pulled), and then there is a fill up of premium, the timing does not immediately advance. The PCM waits for several gallons to be burned before going up on the timing. That's why some people say that there is no performance difference between the two grades, because there isn't initially.
__________________
2001 WJ Limited with Quadra-Drive, Kenne Bell Supercharger, 3-inch Kolak exhaust, Stillen rotors (F/R) and MM pads, Addco sway bars (F/R).
rm2001wj is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.