2002 Grand Cherokee V8 Ltd. Start Up Prob. w/ Misfiring! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 2002 Grand Cherokee V8 Ltd. Start Up Prob. w/ Misfiring!

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Lift Kits and Parts!

Unread 06-02-2004, 08:07 PM   #1
arcarc

2002 Grand Cherokee V8 Ltd. Start Up Prob. w/ Misfiring!

Hi Guys,

I'm a Newbie here, and I desperately need some advice and help here, hope you can bare with me with the long post here.

I have a 2002 Grand Cherokee Ltd. V8 w/ only 39000 miles!

About 2 weeks ago one morning, I started my car first thing in the morning while the engine's completely cold in my garage (I'm in CA), the car idles so rough my steering wheel was totally shaking, then soon after the Check Engine light came on. I could hardly drive the sucker, it was reving so rough and low, only until the engine warmed up a bit (about 5 minutes) then it seemed to run ok.

I then immediately took it to the dealer nearby (Simi Valley Jeep), it took them 3 days to find what the problem was, they found some of the cylinders were Misfiring and they ended up replacing a Fuel Pump, and it ran really good and smooth.

4 days later (yesterday!), all things back to square one again, I immediately drove it back to the dealer's service dept. They called me back about 3 hours later, and told me that their mechanic had reconnected the connectors to the fuel injector and it seems to run fine. all the cylinders were in sync (all they did was disconnected some wires then reconnected them!)