2000 JGC overheating when sitting in traffic. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 2000 JGC overheating when sitting in traffic.

New Product Release: Flowmaster Force II Dual Tailpipe AxlNew Product Release: Flowmaster Force II Dual Tailpipe AxlUSA Made JK Rear Axles!!! Revolution Gear and Axle

Unread 06-15-2006, 03:42 PM   #1
Joey P.

2000 JGC overheating when sitting in traffic.

I'm a newb here. This is for my wife's 2000 JGC. Anytime we sit in traffic and no air moving across the radiator, the jeep overheats, or gets real close to overheating. The temp will go from 210 where it usally sits and go up to 260 or more which is the redline for the temp. We pull over, let it cool down and then get on our way if we can move with traffic to get airflow across the radiator. The electric fan does come on and I can feel it pulling air through the radiator so It seems to have enough pull. I flushed the radiator and changed the t-stat from a search I did on this site. When I drained the radiator, it drained out just fine and fast also. Can anyone help us with this? My wife is pregnant and the last Thing I need is to have her broke down somewhere. Thanks!

Unread 06-15-2006, 08:49 PM   #2
GreenDean
1995 ZJ 

I would say it maybe a seizing water pump but you would see effects of that in other places. Your Power steering would be weak, alternator charge low... and not to mention the belt would break fairly quick.

Start the jeep and bore yourself by watching the tempature gauge and make note at what temperature your radiator fan actually comes on. It may be turning on late which would indicate a bad coolant temp sensor.