1997 Grand Cherokee Laradeo, stalls after cold starts. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 1997 Grand Cherokee Laradeo, stalls after cold starts.

6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!Flush Mount LED Bumper Lights, CREERuffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Unread 09-05-2007, 10:59 AM   #1
MRCLIVE
1989 MJ Comanche 

1997 Grand Cherokee Laradeo, stalls after cold starts.

Hello everyone,

I am new to Jeep Forum. I have the following problem, my 1997 Grand Cherokee Laradeo ZJ inline 6 4.0L stalls out after a cold start. If i warm it up for about 20 minutes it seem to work just fine. However, lately as the temperatures have been in the low 60s and 50s at night and in early mornings the problem has gotten worst. It seems to work fine when temperatures above 70 degrees. After searching the forum and following all the good advice the problem persists.

Here is a list of my action to date. I have replaced the wires, plugs, distributor w/cam sensor, cap & rotor. Ignition coil, TPS, Idle Air Control valve. I have a new catalyst converter. Repaired an exhaust manifold leak (new manifold). Inspected the battery cables (ok), applied dielectric grease to most electrical connection with exception to connections on throttle body.

Once again, after getting hot it runs fine. It only after cold starts when temp is below 70 degrees I have problems. In fact just this morning temp was about 62, started it up, warmed up, and drove about 1 or miles it stalled. I was able to restart and continue. Now that its hotter it will start up and go without issue.

Any thoughts on what else my problem could be. Thanks in Advance.

MRCLIVE is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message